Namaste! Hello and welcome to CricketCountry’s live coverage of Vijay Hazare Trophy 2015-16 match between Maharashtra and Odisha in Delhi. This would be Maharashtra’s first game in the tournament, while Odisha played a nail-biter yesterday, where they beat Vidarbha by three runs. Maharashtra’s performance in the Ranji Trophy this season has been disappointing. They lost quite a few easy games which they should have won. On the other hand, Odisha showed brilliance in patches, but failed to deliver overall. No with the One-Day tournament’s beginnning, both the teams would look to make amends by coming up with a stellar performance and maintain a good show at the league standings.

LIVE CRICKET SCORE: Odisha 177 in overs 43.4 | Target 218 | BATTING: Basant Mohanty 3(7): And Maharshra win by 40 runs. It was a team effort, Shrikant Mundhe was the highest scorer for the Maharashtra side while taking four wickets as well. He remained the hero for his side with all-round performance.

LIVE CRICKET SCORE: Odisha 111/5 in overs 32 | Target 218 | BATTING: Arabind Singh 6(15), Govinda Poddar 47(62): The chase looks really tough now. Odisha have already lost 5 wickets and have 18 overs in hand. They need some serious hitting to reach the target and also need to protect their wicket.

LIVE CRICKET SCORE: Maharashtra 217/8 in overs 50 ; BATTING: Akhshay Darekar 13(14), A A Sanklecha 9(4): Maharashtra’s innings ended with 217 runs on board. Basant Mohanty took 3 wickets for Odisha. The second innings will be interesting as the match is up for grab for both the teams.

LIVE CRICKET SCORE: Maharashtra 60/1 in overs 20 ; BATTING: Kedar Jadhav 39(50), Ankit Bawane 27(64): Maharashtra lost 4 early wickets as Odisha bowlers did exceptionally well, but they have also comeback well as they have gone past 100. The two batsmen will now have to take forward their team to a good total.

Odisha’s match yesterday against Vidarbha was the closest match of Day 1 in the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2015-16. The match was a roller coaster ride as first Odisha scored 226 from their 50 overs and then reduced Vidarbha to 5 for 59. Vidarbha then made a stunning comeback as Jangid (97) and Karnewar (72) added 157 runs for the sixth wicket and brought the team well within the reach of a win. With just 11 needed, Alok Sahoo (5 wickets) and Basant Mohanty (2 wickets) wrecked havoc and took last five wickets for just seven runs, thus causing a heartbreak for Vidarbha. With the win, Odisha gained four points. Moreover, the win would have given them immense confidence moving ahead in this competition.

Maharashtra will have their task cut out against an in-form Odisha team. They would have to be at their best from the onset. With some teams starting the tournament a day before than the others, the remaining ones will have little scope to make errors. Maharashtra would bank on their star player Kedar Jadhav, skipper Rohit Motwani and spinner Akshay Darekar to deliver.


Odisha: Natraj Behera (c), Govinda Poddar, Basant Mohanty, Alok Sahoo, Anurag Sarangi, Arabind Singh, Biplab Samantaray, Deepak Behera, Dhiraj Singh, Paresh Patel, Rajesh Dhuper (wk), Anshuman Gope, Suryakant Pradhan, Shesdeep Patra, Ranjit Singh.

Maharashtra: Rohit Motwani (c & wk), Vijay Zol, Kedar Jadhav, Samad Fallah, Akshay Darekar, Anupam Sanklecha, Rahul Tripathi, Sangram Atitkar, Nikti Dhumal, Harshad Khadiwale, Dominic Joseph, Vishant More, Shrikant Mundhe, Chirag Khurana, Ankit Bawne, Swapnil Gugale, Bharat Solanki.