Live Updates

  • 11:17 AM IST

    New Schedule announced: BCCI have announced the new schedule for the semi-final and the final of the tournament. The semi-final between Jharkhand and Bengal will now be played on Saturday, March 18. The final which was supposed to be played on Sunday, will now be played on Monday, March 20. The winner of this match will take on Tamil Nadu in the final on Monday.

  • 10:47 AM IST

    UPDATE: When we contacted Jharkhand batsman Virat Singh, he confirmed that all players were indeed safe. As the kits were damaged in the fire, postponing the match became a necessity. According to an official from the fire department, “A fire call was received at 6.30 a.m., from Welcome Hotel in Dwarka Sector 10 area, following which 30 fire tenders were rushed to the spot,” a fire official told IANS. “The flames were doused at 7.50 a.m.,” the official added.

  • 10:22 AM IST

    UPDATE: There were earlier reports of just skipper MS Dhoni being rescued, but from what we hear, all the players are safe. Hopefully, cricket will take centre stage when these two teams clash in the semi-final. No official word on when this match will be played. It is however most likely to be played tomorrow. We’ll keep you posted with further updates. Stay tuned!

  • 9:48 AM IST

    UPDATE: It is believed that Dhoni has been rescued from the fire. But the status of the rest of the team is still unknown.

  • 9:11 AM IST

    BREAKING NEWS: Due to a fire in Jharkhand’s team hotel, this match has been postponed and will now be played tomorrow.

  • 8:59 AM IST

    Lots of talks over Sourav Ganguly flying down to Delhi to have a word with Manoj Tiwary to help him tackle MS Dhoni. We’ll have to wait and see how that turns out. “Sourav has already discussed a few plans on how to tackle the Dhoni threat with Manoj and Sairaj. No doubt Dhoni is a formidable player but it’s not impossible to get him out. Dada will be meeting the team in the evening today and will also be present at the ground tomorrow,” a Bengal team source told PTI on the condition of anonymity.


Hello and welcome to CricketCountry’s coverage of the second semi-final of the Vijay Hazare Trophty 2016-17 between Jharkhand and Bengal at Palam A Stadium, Delhi. The winner of this match will take on Tamil Nadu in the final of the tournament on Sunday. Tamil Nadu beat Baroda in the first semi-final on Thursday to make it to the final. Bengal recorded their highest ever run-chase in the quarter-final against Maharashtra to make it to the last four. They chased down 319 off the final over in that game. Jharkhand, on the other hand, had a much easier outing in the quarters. They beat Vidarbha by 6 wickets, with Jharkhand skipper MS Dhoni once again finishing the match with a six – like he has done many times in his career.

Since relinquishing captaincy of the Indian limited-overs side, Dhoni has taken over the reins as Jharkhand captain for this tournament and with a young side at his disposal; he has done well to guide them to this stage. Jharkhand also made it to the semi-final of the Ranji Trophy this year, but could not progress any further. They will hope that they make it to the final this time around. However, Jharkhand have some senior pros like Saurabh Tiwary, who has played very well in this tournament. He has scored 320 runs from seven innings at 53.33. Dhoni and Ishank Jaggi too have been among runs.

As far as Bengal are concerned, Abhimanyu Easwaran and skipper Manoj Tiwary have been their batting mainstay with 370 and 271 runs in seven outings respectively. Sudip Chatterjee too has on more than one occasion played vital innings. Kanishk Seth and Pragyan Ojha with 10 wickets have been Bengal’s best bowlers. They also have the experience of Ashok Dinda on their side.


Bengal: Manoj Tiwary (c), Shreevats Goswami (wk), Abhimanyu Easwaran, Agniv Pan, Sudip Chatterjee, Anustup Majumdar, Kanishk Seth, Aamir Gani, Sayan Ghosh, Pragyan Ojha, Ashok Dinda, Mukesh Kumar, Ishan Porel, Debabrata Das, Abhishek Raman, Pankaj Shaw, Writtick Chatterjee, Pramod Chandila, Saurabh Singh, Mohammed Shami

Jharkhand: MS Dhoni (c & wk), Ishan Kishan, Virat Singh, Ishank Jaggi, Saurabh Tiwary, Kaushal Singh, Pratyush Singh, Shahbaz Nadeem, Sonu Singh, Varun Aaron, Rahul Shukla, Anukul Sudhakar Roy, Monu Kumar, Jaskaran Singh, Anand Singh, Shasheem Sanjay Rathour, Vikash Singh, Kumar Deobrat