Live Updates

  • 5:46 PM IST

    Stumps: Well, the table has turned at Mirpur. Australia lost their top three and Bangladesh still have hopes to save the match. The spinners will have to continue their work on Day 2.
    বাংলাদেশ দারুণ টক্কর দিল। যদিও ২৬০ যথেষ্ট কম, কিন্তু তিন উইকেট নিয়ে তারা ভাল প্রতিকক্ষকে চাপের মধ্যে রাখতে পেরেছে।

  • 3:31 PM IST

    Rain stops play: Rain has stopped the match at Mirpur. Bangladesh lost yet another wicket post tea, that of skipper Mushfiqur. They now depend on Mehediand Nasir.
    মীরপুরে বৃষ্টি পড়ছে। বাংলাদেশের অধিনায়ক মুশফিকুরও আউট হয়ে গেছেন, এখন ভরসা নাসির ও মেহেদি।

  • 2:35 PM IST

    Shakib departs for 84: Yet another wicket to an Australia spinner. Lyon who was bowling beautifully, finally gets a reward. Shakib is outwitted by turn and bounce. Two set batsmen removed.
    নেথান লিয়ন শাকিবকে আউট করে দিল। লিয়নের বল ভাল ঘুরছে এবং সঙ্গে বাউন্সও করছে যা শাকিব বুঝতে পারেননি। ৮৪ রানে আউট হলেন শাকিব।

  • 2:00 PM IST

    Tamim departs for 71: Finally, the partnership has been broken. Glenn Maxwell takes his first Test wicket since March 2013 as he produced turn when Tamim did not expect any.
    তামিম আউট হয়ে গেল। ম্যাক্সওয়েলের বলে টার্ন ছিল, তামিম সেটা আশা করেননি এবং ক্যাচ তুলে দিলেন ওয়ার্নারের হাতে। এখন খেলছেন মুশফিকুর ও শাকিব।

  • 12:16 PM IST

    Tamim, Shakib provide stability: So, it’s lunch at Mirpur. Shakib and Tamim have posted a partnership that added in excess of 50 runs and now, Bangladesh look in a better position after the 3 successive wickets.
    বাংলাদেশ এখন আগের থেকে ভাল অবস্থায়। শাকিব আর তামিম ভাল খেলছে।

  • 10:03 AM IST

    Bangladesh lose two more: কামিনস পরপর দুটি উইকেট নিল। Cummins has unsettled Bangladesh here at Mirpur. Lack of feet movement from Bangladesh batsmen. Kayes gets his bat to a delivery moving away from him, gets the inside edge to the wicketkeeper while Sabbir is outwitted by a fuller length delivery that moved late. Bangladesh in trouble.

  • 9:50 AM IST

    OUT! After getting off the mark with a handsome drive and edging one, Sarkar departs for 8. Short length delivery, Sarkar gets the edge of his bat to it as it flies to gully. Bangladesh lose their first

  • 9:26 AM IST

    Bangladesh XI: Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Imrul Kayes, Sabbir Rahman, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan, Nasir Hossain, Mehedi Hasan, Taijul Islam, Shafiul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman

  • 9:12 AM IST

    Toss: Bangladesh win toss and elect to bat.

This is the 5th Test in history between Bangladesh and Australia © AFP, Getty Images
This is the 5th Test in history between Bangladesh and Australia © AFP, Getty Images

Good morning! Hello and welcome to Cricketcountry’s live coverage of the ongoing Test series between Bangladesh and Australia. This is the first Test, to be played at the Shere Bangla Stadium, Mirpur and here you will get all the live updates and scores from the match. Bangladesh and Australia have played only four Tests between them in the past, all of which went in favour of the latter. However, Bangladesh have put up impressive performances, making it a good contest if not even. This match will be Tamim Iqbal’s 50th Test, which makes it special for him.

Australia is wary of the threat posed by Bangladesh’s spinners ahead of their two-Test series starting on Sunday in Dhaka, batsman Glenn Maxwell said. The Australians have not won a Test series on the subcontinent since 2011, when they beat Sri Lanka 1-0, and have been preparing hard for the slow and turning tracks. Steve Smith’s team have not played a Test in Bangladesh in more than a decade and their preparations were hampered when their only practice game was washed out because of flooding in Fatullah. The opening Test at Mirpur will be the first between the countries since Ricky Ponting’s side toured the country in 2006, winning the two-match series 2-0. Part of the visitors’ drills this time has included batting in the nets without a front pad, a lay designed to emphasise the importance of using the bat in order to avoid leg-before decisions against the slow bowlers, reported PTI.

Bangladesh squad: Mushfiqur Rahim (c), Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Imrul Kayes, Liton Das, Shakib Al Hasan, Mominul Haque, Nasir Hossain, Sabbir Rahman, Mehedi Hasan, Shafiul Islam, Taijul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman and Taskin Ahmed.

Australia XI: Steve Smith (c), David Warner, Matthew Renshaw, Usman Khawaja, Peter Handscomb, Glenn Maxwell, Matthew Wade, Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood