Manoj Tiwary followed up his fine century with another 59* to guide India B to Deodhar Trophy title (Image courtesy: AFP)
Manoj Tiwary followed up his fine century with another 59* to guide India B to Deodhar Trophy title (Image courtesy: AFP)

India B lifted the Deodhar Trophy, courtesy a superlative batting effort as they comfortably beat Karnataka by six wickets in the summit clash at Dharamsala on Thursday.

Ravikumar Samarth (107 off 120 balls) was once again on the forefront as Karnataka scored a respectable 279 for 8 despite tottering at 64 for 4 at one stage.

In reply, India B romped home in 48.2 overs with as many as four batsmen hitting half-centuries.

Opener Ruturaj Gaikwad (58 off 47 balls) and Abhimanyu Easwaran (69 off 82 balls) provided the initial impetus with an 84-run opening stand.

The final flourish was provided by skipper Shreyas Iyer (61 off 69 balls) and veteran Manoj Tiwary (59 off 51 balls). They added 83 runs in only 14.1 overs.

Earlier, it was R Samarth, who scored his second hundred with the help of eight fours and a six and added 132 runs with CM Gautam (76 off 84 balls). Gautam hit six fours and two sixes.

The two came together when Karnataka were left reeling at 64 for 4 by Umesh Yadav (2 for 48) and Khaleel Ahmed (3 for 49).

They attacked Jayant Yadav (1/71 in 10 overs) mercilessly. The off-spinner, who was a surprise inclusion in the central contracts looked completely out of sorts.

India B paced their chase beautifully as Easwaran dropped anchor at one end while Gaikwad attacked, taking full advantage of the Powerplay overs. Easwaran hit seven fours and two sixes.

Easwaran, someone who is rated highly for his impressive technique was ready to play the second fiddle during the opening stand. He only started to open up after Gaikwad and Hanuma Vihari (21) were back in the pavilion.

His innings had eight fours and he added 62 with Iyer and was looking good for a hundred before being bowled off a half-tracker from leg-spinner Shreyas Gopal.

Tiwary, who has been in good form, hit eight boundaries and Stuart Binny was taken to task along with Prasidh Krishna as B team coasted home easily. Tiwary, in his earlier match against Karnataka, had slammed a 120 and brought India B close to a win.

Brief Scores

Karnataka 279 for 8 in 50 overs (Ravikumar Samarth 107, CM Gautam 76, Khaleel Ahmed 3 for 49, Umesh Yadav 2 for 48) lost to India B 281 for 4 in 48.2 overs (Abhimanyu Easwaran 69, Ruturaj Gaikwad 58, Manoj Tiwary 59*, Shreyas Iyer 61*) won by six wickets.

Man of the Match: R Samarth

(Inputs from PTI)