Mayank Agarwal cruises Karnataka to victory over Hyderabad in Syed Mushtaq Ali match

Mayank Agarwal scored a brilliant 111 against Hyderabad © Getty Images

Shimoga: Mar 21, 2013
Mayank Agarwal‘s brilliant 111 and Manish Pandey‘s all-round heroics helped Karnataka beat Hyderabad by 12 runs to top the South Zone leg of the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy at Shimoga on Thursday.

Sent into bat, Agarwal blasted eight boundaries and five sixes in his 64-ball innings and was engaged in an 85-run opening stand with Pandey (31) to help Karnataka post a mammoth 185 for seven in their alloted 20 overs.

Chasing the stiff target, Tirumalasetti Suman top-scored with 36 off 27 balls and Akash Bhandari made a quick 30 but it was not enough to overhaul Karnataka’s total as Hyderabad finished on 173 for nine in their 20 overs.

After playing a useful knock at the top of the order, Pandey bamboozled Hydrebad batsmen with his slow off-breaks, snapping up four wickets for 37 from his four overs.

Krishnappa Gowtham also claimed four wickets for Karnataka but gave away just 19 runs in his four overs.

Meanwhile, in another match, VA Jagadeesh’s 75 helped Kerala overpower a formidable Tamil Nadu by four wickets.

Chasing a challenging 184-run target set by TN, Kerala achieved romped home with four balls to spare.

Jagadeesh’s innings was studded with seven sparkling hits to the fence and two huge sixes and came off just 51 balls.

Along with Rohan Prem (36), he added 81 runs for the fourth wicket to set the tone for the chase.

Jagadeesh also added 35 vital runs for the fifth wicket with Sachin Baby (16).

It was, however, left to Raiphi Gomez (22) and Padmanabhan Prashanth (15) to see Kerala and the duo duly completed the task with an unbeaten 35-runs partnership for seventh wicket.

KB Arun Kartik (66), Abhinav Mukund (41) and Dinesh Karthik’s (44) knocks went in vain as Tamil Nadu bowlers’ below-par performance put paid to their winning chances.

Kerala, who finished second in the South Zone leg with 12 points from four games, also progressed to the knockout stage of the tournament along with Karnataka (14).