Mithali Raj    Getty Images
Mithali Raj Getty Images

Mithali Raj has surpassed England s Charlotte Edwards as the over-all top-scorer of ICC Womens World T20 with 567 runs. The Indian skipper achieved this feat during India s opening match against of ICC Womens World T20 2016 against Bangladesh at Bengaluru on Tuesday. Before entering this match, Mithali was on 541 runs, short of 25 and she took no time to score those runs. Mithali has been India Women s pillar of their batting line-up for more than a decade. She has played in the entire Women s World T20s, with the first edition being played in 2009. Indian Women is yet to have their hands on the elite World T20 trophy with Australia and England being the only winners so far. Live Cricket Scorecard: India Women vs Bangladesh Women, Women s T20 World Cup 2016, Match 1 Group B at Bangalore

At present, Mithali is batting along with a new opener Harmanpret Kaur .Mithali and Kaur are playing on 27 and 1 respectively with India having posted 66 for 2 in 9 overs.

Nahida Akter broke the partnership of Mithali and Vellaswamy Vanitha by dismissing the latter in the eighth over. Akter smacked off the stumps of Vanitha and brought a superb innings to an end. The opening batsman scored a quick 38 off 24, smashing seven boundaries. Her dismissal brought in Smriti Mandhana on strike, who has been dropped a position down to No. 2 spot. However, she lasted only four deliveries before Fahima Khatun trapped her leg before wicket in the very next over. Earlier, Bangladesh skipper, Jahanara Alam won the toss and elected to bowl first. However, the loss toss did not affect the Indian plans because the Indian skipper suggested during the toss that had she won the toss, India would have anyway batted first. Live Cricket Score, India Women vs Bangladesh Women, Women’s T20 World Cup 2016, IND W vs BAN W, Match 1 Group B at Bangalore

India and Bangladesh Women are playing the opening match of Group B of ICC Womens World T20 2016. The other sides that feature in their group are England, Sri Lanka and West Indeis. The Group A has the likes of Australia, Sri Lanka, Ireland, New Zealand and South Africa.