Mohammad Aamer is all set to make a comeback to the national side after five-year ban © Getty Images
Mohammad Aamer is all set to make a comeback to the national side after five-year ban © Getty Images

After getting his visa for New Zealand, Pakistan pacer Mohammad Aamer has been named in both One-Day Internationals (ODIs) and T20 Internationals (T20Is) squads for their tour of New Zealand. According to reports, Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has included Mohammad Aamer’s name in the limited overs format after much speculations regarding his comeback to the team. Pakistan will play New Zealand in three T20Is and three ODIs and Aamer has been the first choice of the selectors and coach Waqar Younis. Recently, he got his visa for New Zealand with much difficulties as the New Zealand embassy inquired  thoroughly for his property details and permissions from International Cricket Council (ICC) and British Court. READ: Waqar Younis expresses excitement over imminent return of Mohammad Aamer

Aamer was one of the three Pakistan players to receive ban following their action of bowling deliberate no-balls included in an act of betting and spot-fixing in the year 2010 during a Test match in England. Aamer had been recently cleared of all the charges by a Pakistan court and will be making a comeback to the national side after his five-year long suspension.

All is not well for Pakistan cricket though, as their potent leg-spinner Yasir Shah recently tested positive for banned substances and received a ban for four years which may mark the end of his promising bowling career. However, according to many cricket enthusiasts, the ban on Yasir Shah might have acted positively in Aamer’s comeback to the team. READ: Shoaib Malik: No problem in sharing dressing room with Mohammad Aamer

Mohammed Aamer has played in 15 ODIs and 18 T20Is for Pakistan so far. While he bagged 25 wickets in the ODIs, he has 23 T20I wickets after his name and can be a game-changer for his side.

The Pakistan squad for the tour as revealed by PCB is as follows:

ODI squad: Azhar Ali (c), Ahmed Shehzad, Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Asad Shafiq, Babar Azam, Sohaib Maqsood, Zafar Gohar, Imad Wasim, Anwar Ali, Sarfraz Ahmed (wk), Wahab Raiz, Rahat Ali, Mohammad Irfan, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Aamer.

T20I squad: Shahid Afridi (c), Ahmed Shehzad, Mohammad Hafeez, Sohaib Maqsood, Shoaib Malik, Umar Akmal, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Anwar Ali, Aamer Yamin, Sarfraz Ahmed (wk), Wahab Riaz, Umar Gul, Mohammad Rizwan, Saad Nasim, Mohammad Aamer.