Having made it this far, MS Dhoni-led Jharkhand will look to go all the way    IANS
Having made it this far, MS Dhoni-led Jharkhand will look to go all the way IANS

Jharkhand have completed an easy 6-wicket win over Vidarbha in the third quarter-final of the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2016-17. With this win Jharkhand have qualified for the semi-final, where they will play Bengal (the winner of the fourth quarter-final) in the second semi-final at Palam on Friday. Ishank Jaggi remained unbeaten on 41 off 61 to see his side home after the openers had given Jharkhand a steady start. It was ultimately a MS Dhoni six that brought up the Jharkhand victory in style. Vidarbha got off to a terrible start. They had lost half their side with just 42 runs on the board in the 16th over and were staring down the barrel. Ganesh Satish and Ravi Jangid then joined hands and put on 38 for the sixth wicket. It was then followed up by 61-run stand between Jangid and Rajneesh Gurbani for the eighth wicket, which took Vidarbha s score close to 150. Full Cricket Updates, Vijay Hazare Trophy 2016-17, Quarter-finals, Jharkhand vs Vidrabha, Bengal vs Maharashtra

Jangid played a crucial hand and top-scored with 62 off 87, which included four fours and a six. Satish and Gurbani also played useful hands, scoring 35 and 22 respectively, to help Vidarbha reach 159 for 9 in their 50 overs. The Jharkhand bowlers were very disciplined throughout the innings. Opening bowler Monu Kumar was the pick of the bowlers with figures of 2 for 27. Varun Aaron, Rahul Shukla, Kaushal Singh and Shahbaz Nadeem finished with a wicket apiece.

Jharkhand in their chase never looked in any sort of trouble. They knew if they bat out their 50 overs, they would easily win this match. But they were given a good foundation by their openers Pratyush Singh and Ishan Kishan, who put on 68 for the first wicket. Vidarbha did pick up three more wickets at regular intervals after that, but they did not have enough runs on the board. In the end, Jaggi and skipper Dhoni put on an unbeaten stand of 49 for the fifth wicket, which helped Jharkhand book a place in the semi-final. Earlier, Vidarbha had won the toss and elected to bat first.

Brief Scores:

Vidarbha 159 for 9 in 50 overs (Ganesh Satish 35, Ravi Jangid 62; Monu Kumar 2 for 27, Shahbaz Nadeem 1 for 13) lost to Jharkhand 165 for 4 in 45.1 overs (Ishan Kishan 35, Ishank Jaggi 41*; Akshay Wakhare 1 for 43, Ravikumar Thakur 2 for 25) by 6 wickets