Mumbai Indians will take on Gujarat Lions at Wankhede in IPL 9.

Mumbai Indians (MI) will lock horns with Gujarat Lions (GL) in Match 9 of Indian Premier League (IPL) 2016 at Mumbai’s Wankhede Stadium. GL have been on a rampage in IPL 9 so far, emerging victorious in all the matches with ease and grace. MI, on the other hand, is back to winnings ways after their 9-wicket defeat against the Rising Pune Supergiants (RSP) in the tournament opener. In fact, MI haven’t tasted win in their first match since IPL 2013, but ended up lifting the cash-rich trophy twice. It promises to be a cracker of a contest, as both teams feature T20 stalwarts who have gone great guns at the international level as well. FULL CRICKET SCORECARD: Mumbai Indians vs Gujarat Lions, Match 7, IPL 2016

The Eden Gardens erupts in joy every time Rohit Sharma graces the iconic stadium with his superior batsmanship. It was yet another encore of his superlative innings against Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) on Wednesday. And, yet again, he took his team out of the woods with match-winning 54-ball 84, which was studded with 10 fours and 2 sixes. MI needed a mammoth 188 runs against a fierce KKR bowling unit. Rohit led from the front and anchored the chase with sheer elegance as well as aggression. However, it was the Jos Butter assault after the 15th over that saw the team over the line. With this clinical performance against a solid team like KKR, MI regained its lost paradise.

On the other hand, GL batsmen have been going all guns blazing right from the word go. On paper, it’s a team that can muscle any opposition out of the contest even in crunch situations. Nonetheless, the kind of skilsl as well temperament the Suresh Raina-led Lions have showcased on the field, it will be an uphill climb for Rohit’s men to contain GL’s onslaught. The West Indian juggernaut Dwayne Bravo has been in the thick of the action. His stunning 4-wicket haul against Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) has earned him the Purple Cap and is looking all set to be the highest wicket-taker of yet another IPL season. Another foreign player who has been firing on all cylinders is Aaron Finch. His 47-ball 74 against KXIP and 36-ball 50 against RSP were the prime reasons why GL have comprehensively winning the contests. To add more to it, he was awarded Man of the Match for his belligerence performance in both the matches. IPL 2016 Schedule, Time Table, Fixture PDF Download

The match will be played in front of a boisterous Wankhede stadium. The Mumbaikars will leave no stone unturned to back their team. Nonetheless, the Wankhede track has a reputation of producing high-scoring contests. In fact, it is a featherbed for the batsmen. And the semi-final between India and West Indies in ICC World T20 2016 was evidence to the fact that it’s a belter of a track and will offer very little to the bowlers.

We will witness a number of swashbuckling contests in this encounter: McCullum vs Jasprit Bumrah, Raina vs Harbhajan Singh, Bravo vs Keiron Pollard, Ravindra Jadeja vs Jos Buttler. Both teams have swaggering T20 stars who can turn the game on its head. However, it’s tough to predict who will eventually waltz to glory in this thrilling contest.

Mumbai Indians (MI): Rohit Sharma (c), Harbhajan Singh, Hardik Pandya, Ambati Rayudu, Jagadeesha Suchith, Jasprit Bumrah, Parthiv Patel, Vinay Kumar, Shreyas Gopal, Nitish Rana, Siddhesh Lad, Unmukt Chand, Akshay Wakhare, Mitchell McClenaghan, Corey Anderson, Martin Guptill, Kieron Pollard, Marchant de Lange, Lasith Malinga, Jos Buttler (wk), Nathu Singh, Tim Southee, Krunal Pandya, Kishore Kamath, Deepak Punia, Jitesh Sharma

Gujarat Lions (GL): Suresh Raina (c), Ravindra Jadeja, Dwayne Bravo, James Faulkner, Brendon McCullum, Praveen Kumar, Dale Steyn, Dinesh Karthik, Dwayne Smith, Dhawal Kulkarni, Aaron Finch, Eklavya Dwivedi, Andrew Tye, Ishan Kishan, Jaydev Shah, Shadab Jakati, Pravin Tambe, Pradeep Sangwan, Amit Mishra, Shivil Kaushik, Aksh Deep Nath, Sarabjeet Ladda, Umang Sharma, Paras Dogra

Time: (20:00 local | 14:30 GMT)

(Kaustubh S. Mayekar, a reporter at CricketCountry, played cricket at U-16 level. Like his idol Rahul Dravid, he often shadow-practises cricket shots. His Twitter handle is @TheCricKnight.)