Mumbai Indians © AFP
Mumbai Indians © AFP

Mumbai Indians have formed a squad of 25 players with eight overseas players, four capped players and  13 uncapped players. MI had retained Rohit Sharma, Hardik Pandya and Jasprit Bumrah ahead of the auction. Mumbai used their Right to Match card (RTM) for Krunal Pandya and Kieron Pollard.

The costliest purchase for Mumbai has been Krunal as they used their RTM card to buy him for INR 8.8 crores. Whereas, for overseas players Pat Cummins was purchased for INR 5.4 crores, Pollard was also purchased for the same amount using RTM card.

Mumbai made a total purchase of 79,35 crores. Some of the notable purchases for Mumbai include Evin Lewis, Pat Cummins, Mustafizur Rahman, JP Duminy and Ben Cutting. Mumbai did not pick up any experienced spinner or  wicket-keeper. Harbhajan Singh, who has been Mumbai’s permanent member since first season was purchased by Chennai Super Kings, whereas Parthiv Patel and Jos Buttler who have kept for MI are in Royal Challengers Bangalore and Rajasthan Royals respectively.

Mumbai have a strong middle batting line up which includes the Pandya brothers, Pollard, Suryakumar Yadav, Jean-Paul Duminy and few others. Apart from middle order MI also have taken care of their pace attack with Cummins, Mustafizur, Bumrah and Jason Behrendorff. In spin department MI have only one international spinner that is Akila Dananjaya.

Players Country Role Sold Price (INR)
Rohit Sharma India Captain/Batsman 15 Cr
Hardik Pandya India All-rounder 11 Cr
Jasprit Bumrah India Bowler 7 Cr
Kieron Pollard West Indies All-rounder 5.4 Cr
Krunal Pandya India All-rounder 8.8 Cr
Rahul Chahar India Bowler 1.9 Cr
Ishan Kishan India Wicket-keeper 6.2 Cr
Pat Cummins Australia Bowler 5.4 Cr
Mustafizur Rahman Bangladesh Bowler 2.2 Cr
Aditya Tare India Wicket-keeper 0.2 Cr
Evin Lewis West Indies Batsman 3.8 Cr
Jason Behrendorff Australia Bowler 1.5 Cr
Akila Dananjaya Sri Lanka Bowler 0.5 Cr
JP Duminy South Africa All-rounder 1 Cr
Anukul Roy India All-rounder 0.2 Cr
Tajinder Singh India All-rounder 0.55 Cr
Mohsin Khan India Bowler 0.2 Cr
Mayank Markande India Bowler 0.2 Cr
Pradeep Sangwan India Bowler 1.5 Cr
Suryakumar Yadav India Batsman 3.2 Cr
Sharad Lumba India Batsman 0.2 Cr
MD Nidheesh India Bowler 0.2 Cr
Ben Cutting Australia All-rounder 2.2 Cr
Siddhesh Lad India Batsman 0.2 Cr
Saurabh Tiwary India Batsman 0.8 Cr

MI’s Probable 11:

Ishan Kishan(wk), Evin Lewis, Rohit Sharma(c), Aditya Tare, Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Krunal Pandya, Rahul Chahar, Pat Cummins, Mustafizur Rahman and Jasprit Bumrah.