Roelof van der Merwe Ireland Netherlands
Roelof van der Merwe Getty Images (file photo)

Netherlands beat Ireland for the second time in as many matches in the Tri-Nation T20 International series, at Hazelaarweg, Rotterdam. The win was set up by former South African all-rounder Roelof van der Merwe, who first dismissed Simi Singh and Kevin O’Brien for 24, then slammed a 26-ball 37 to take Netherlands home with an over to spare.

Ireland put up 158 for 6, the innings shepherded by captain Gary Wilson, who took 42 balls for his 45 not out. Every single batsman in the Ireland top six got to double figures, but the Netherlands bowlers kept pegging them back with wickets at regular intervals. Paul Stirling became the second Irishman to 1,000 T20I runs, after William Porterfield. Van der Merwe was the most successful bowler.

In response, Tobias Visee and Max O’Dowd added 37 for the opening stand in 23 balls. The runs kept coming, and at one stage Netherlands required 46 in 42 balls. But the Irish bowlers did not let Netherlands get away, dismissing van der Merwe bringing the equation to 23 in 18. They needed 13 in 2 overs when Stirling got Sikander Zulfiqar caught at long-off.

Then, with 8 needed from 8 balls, Dutch wicketkeeper Scott Edwards slashed at two short-pitched balls, both of which went for fours.

Brief scores:

Ireland 158 for 6 in 20 overs [James Shannon 31(21), Gary Wilson 45*(42); Fred Klaasen 4-0-29-1, Roelof van der Merwe 4-0-24-2] lost to Netherlands 159 for 6 in 19 overs [Max O’Dowd 39(24), Roelof van der Merwe 37(26); George Dockrell 4-0-30-2, Simi Singh 4-0-23-1] by 4 wickets with 6 balls to spare.