New Zealand opt to bowl against South Africa in first ODI at Paarl

Brendon McCullum in action during a New Zealand practise session © Getty Images

Paarl: Jan 19, 2013

New Zealand captain Brendon McCullum won the toss and elected to field against South Africa in the first One-Day International match at Paarl on Saturday.

Paarl is the venue where South Africa bowled out Sri Lanka for just 43 runs. New Zealand will at least look to avoid that scenario.

The South Africans, on the other hand, will look to extend their domination over the Kiwis. The last time these two teams met in a bilateral series was in 2012 in New Zealand and the Proteas blanked them 3-0. They will be looking to repeat that in this series as well.


South Africa: Hashim Amla, Graeme Smith (c), Colin Ingram, Faf du Plessis, AB de Villiers, Quinton de Kock (wk), Ryan McLaren, Robin Peterson, Rory Kleinveldt, Dale Steyn, Lonwabo Tsotsobe

New Zealand: Rob Nicol, Martin Guptill, Kane Williamson, BJ Watling (wk), Brendon McCullum (c), James Franklin, Nathan McCullum, Grant Elliott, Jimmy Neesham, Kyle Mills, Mitchell McClenaghan

Catch live scores and ball-by-ball commentary of the first ODI between South Africa and New Zealand at Paarl here