2nd Test: Henry, Mustafizur in as New Zealand bowl in Wellington
Kane Williamson is all smiles after the weather finally cleared in Wellington. (AFP Image)

New Zealand won the toss and elected to bat on a rain-delayed start to the second Test against Bangladesh in Wellington on Sunday. With the first two days washed out, and a deep green wicket, both sides are playing four seamers at the expense of a spinner.

“I think both sides wanted to bowl first. There’s a real green tinge,” New Zealand captain Kane Williamson said.

New Zealand have made one change from the first Test with pace bowler Matt Henry replacing spinner Todd Astle. Bangladesh have made two changes with Mustafizur Rahman and Taijul Islam coming in for Mehidy Hasan and Khaled Ahmed. The Basin Reserve wicket, while traditionally favouring seamers on day one, turns in the batsman’s favour from then on.

In seven Tests in Wellington over the past five years, the team that won the toss bowled first, winning six with one Test drawn. The seven Tests also produced one triple century, five double centuries and 14 centuries.

New Zealand lead the three-match series 1-0 after taking the first Test in Hamilton by an innings and 52 runs when they posted a record 715 for six in their sole innings.


New Zealand (Playing XI): Jeet Raval, Tom Latham, Kane Williamson (capt), Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, BJ Watling, Colin de Grandhomme, Matt Henry, Matt Henry, Tim Southee, Neil Wagner, Trent Boult

Bangladesh (Playing XI): Tamim Iqbal, Shadman Islam, Mominul Haque, Mohammad Mithun, Mahmudullah Riyad, Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Abu Jayed, Ebadat Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Taijul Islam