New Zealand recall Jimmy Neesham and Doug Bracewell for Sri Lanka ODIs
Jimmy Neesham has not played for the Blackcaps since 2017. © Getty Images

The allrounder Jimmy Neesham and fast bowler Doug Bracewell have been rewarded for consistent performances with recalls to New Zealand‘s ODI squad for the upcoming three-match ODI series against Sri Lanka.

Neesham, who last played an ODI during the 2017 ICC Champions Trophy, slots in with Bracewell in a 13-man Blackcaps squad for the series starting January 3. Bracewell played the last of his 16 ODIs in December 2017.

Also making a return from injury is Martin Guptill, who missed the tour of the UAE with a calf injury. The New Zealand Cricket (NZC) selectors have decided to rest Tom Latham and Colin de Grandhomme, which opens up a chance for Tim Seifert to make his ODI debut as wicketkeeper.

“With the World Cup now on our radar there is a need to look at different players over the home summer,” the NZC chief selector Gavin Larsen said. “We want to win the one-day series against Sri Lanka, and we want to gain as much new information as possible while doing so. Doug and Jimmy have performed well on the domestic scene and showed during the recent New Zealand A series against India A that they’re ready for international cricket.”

“Tim’s also been rewarded for his strong New Zealand A form and we’ve been impressed by the development of his all-round game. Colin (de Grandhomme has) played almost non-stop over the past year, so will take a well-earned rest as we continue to monitor the workloads of those who play all three formats. It’s great to have Martin back after injury and he’ll obviously add all his class and experience to the side.”

The spin-bowling allrounder Mitchell Santner made his return for Northern Districts last week after recovering frrom knee surgery and Larsen stated that he would be back in the reckoning soon. “Mitchell made a promising return in the Super Smash over the weekend and we’ll continue to monitor his progress closely,” said Larsen.

Adam Milne, Corey Anderson and Todd Astle were not considered for selection because of injury.

The three-match series begins at Bay Oval on January 3. New Zealand are scheduled to play 11 ODIs over the home summer against Sri Lanka, India, and Bangladesh leading into the 2019 ICC Cricket World Cup.

New Zealand ODI squad: Kane Williamson (capt), Trent Boult, Doug Bracewell, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Colin Munro, Jimmy Neesham, Henry Nicholls, Tim Seifert (wk), Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor.