New Zealand win toss, elect to bowl against England in first T20

England batsman Luke Wright (left) will hope to come good in this three-match T20 series against New Zealand © Getty Images

Auckland: Feb 9, 2013

New Zealand skipper Brendon McCullum won the toss and elected to bowl against England in the first Twenty20 match to be played at Auckland on Saturday.

The home side will be looking to draw first blood in the three-match series and the return of Ross Taylor would boost their chances of doing so. As for England, they will look to carry on their good form from the recently concluded two-match T20 series against India.

The kiwis have handed Hamish Rutherford a debut while Stuart Broad returns to lead the side.


England: Alex Hales, Michael Lumb, Luke Wright, Jonny Bairstow, Eoin Morgan, Jos Buttler (wk), Samit Patel, Stuart Broad (c), James Tredwell, Steven Finn, Jade Dernbach

New Zealand: Hamish Rutherford, Martin Guptill, Brendon McCullum (c & wk), Ross Taylor,Colin Munro,James Franklin, Andrew Ellis, Nathan McCullum,Ronnie Hira, Trent Boult, Mitchell McClenaghan

Catch the live score and ball-by-ball updates of the first Twenty20 match between Newzealand and England here