English First-Class cricketer Rory Burns is a big name in the domestic circuit and on the brink of debuting for the national side. A left-handed batsman, who has been instrumental with the keeping gloves too, Burns has done a good job in the recent times. Burns on this occasion named his All-Time XI in a video posted by Lord’s Ground from their official YouTube channel. The selection was based on the fact that the player should have played with or against the cricketer or influenced him.

South African giant and a legendary Test skipper, Graeme Smith along with a consistent Hashim Amla will open the batting for the side. Smith has been a prolific run-scorer in whites and has done a commendable job for his side at the top, while Amla’s prowess is well known. The pair has the ability to bat for hours and wear out the new ball. They possess immense temperament and could win games with their ability to garner runs on a consistent basis.

Sri Lankan legend, Kumar Sangakkara will bat at three and also render his services behind the stumps as a wicketkeeper of the side. Sangakkara has plethora of runs to his name and could easily make it to any All-Time XI. Former Australian cricketer, Ricky Ponting will bat at four followed by Kevin Pietersen at five. Both Ponting and Pietersen have engineered numerous victories for their side with their ability to score big runs at a brisk pace. The middle-order looks solid with the presence of these two stalwarts.

The unorthodox artist and unique Shivnarine Chanderpaul will be at six; a move which further strengthens the batting order. Chanderpaul is well known for his canny improvisations and distinctive stance. Interestingly, Australian all-rounder, Moises Henriques has been drafted for the seventh slot in the side. On a whole, the batting department wears a dominant look and inspires confidence. They have depth along with variations but surprisingly, no Indian cricketer has managed to sculpt a spot in Burns’ batting department. Leaving out big names like Virender Sehwag, Rahul Dravid or Sachin Tendulkar is a huge call.

The pace battery consists Wahab Riaz, Andre Adams and Graham Onions. It has variation, as all three bowlers are different in their own style. Do not be surprised, Burns is speaking from his County experience here. Left-arm pacer Wahab has done a commendable job for Pakistan in shorter formats but has not played enough Tests. Adams is a Kiwi right-arm pacer, who played a solitary Test in which he had six scalps to his name. Onions on the other hand, has been fruitful in his sporadic appearances for England. In nine Tests, Onions has picked 32 wickets at an average of 29.90.

The only spinner to make it to the side is Saeed Ajmal, who was unplayable during his prime and of course before the altercation of his bowling action. Ajmal meant business and has 178 Test wickets in just 35 outings. His presence can bolster a side’s confidence, as he is capable to win games single-handedly.

Rory Burns All-Time XI: Graeme Smith, Hashim Amla, Kumar Sangakkara (wk), Ricky Ponting, Kevin Pietersen, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Moises Henriques, Andre Adams, Wahab Riaz, Saeed Ajmal, Graham Onions.

Check out the video, where Burns’ reasons it out here: