Kane Williamson © Getty Images
Kane Williamson © Getty Images

Sep 13, 2014

Southern Express will take on Northern Knights at Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Stadium here on September 13 before locking horns with tougher opponents Lahore Lions and Mumbai Indians. New Zealand’s Northern Districts will be making their baby steps in alien conditions of the subcontinent. On paper, though the Kiwi outfit look the stronger one with many seasoned and bright hopefuls packed in the roster. Sri Lanka’s Southern Express too have some power hitters but their Sri Lankan stars lack top level experience. Catch the Live Blog of the match

While the tournament proper starts on September 17 with perennial favourites Chennai Super Kings (CSK) pitted against reigning Indian Premier League (IPL) champions Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), the start of qualifying rounds will feature defending CLT20 champions Mumbai Indians taking on a very talented Lahore Lions team led by former national T20 captain Mohammed Hafeez.


Northern Knights:

Daniel Flynn (c), Graeme Aldridge, Jono Boult, Trent Boult, Anton Devcich, DJ Harris, Scott Kuggeleijn, Daryl Mitchell, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Scott Styris, BJ Watling†, Kane Williamson, Brad Wilson

Southern Express:

Jehan Mubarak (c), Niroshan Dickwella, Dhanushka Gunathilaka,Charith Jayampathi, Ishan Jayaratne, Yashoda Lanka, Kasun Madushanka, Farveez Maharoof, Sachith Pathirana, Angelo Perera, Kusal Perera, Diruwan Perera, Seekkuge Prasanna, Tillakaratne Sampath, Lakshan Rangika

Complete coverage of Champions League T20 2014 here

Catch the Live Scorecard of the 1st CL T20 match between Northern Knights and Southern Express here