Pakistan opt to bat against Australia in second T20 at Dubai

Mohammad Hafeez (L) led Pakistan won the first game in Dubai to take 1-0 lead AFP

By CricketCountry Staff

Dubai: Sep 7, 2012

Pakistan captain Mohammad Hafeez won the toss and elected to bat against Australia in their second T20 International match at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium on Friday.

Pakistan won the opening tie at the same venue by a crushing seven-wicket margin to take 1-0 lead in the series.

The tourists made three changes to their side for the second game, bringing in Mitchell Starc, Brad Hogg and Daniel Christian in place of Glenn Maxwell, Xavier Dohery and Ben Hilfenhaus.

Australia are on the brink of slipping to the 10th spot in ICC Rankings in Twenty20 cricket, if they fail to level their ongoing three-match series.

Australia suffered their heaviest defeat in T20Is in terms of balls, when Pakistan crushed them by seven wickets with 31 balls to spare.


Pakistan: Mohammad Hafeez (c), Nasir Jamshed, Umar Akmal, Imran Nazir, Shoaib Malik, Kamran Akmal (wk), Abdul Razzaq, Sohail Tanvir, Raza Hasan, Umar Gul, Saeed Ajmal.

Australia: David Warner, Shane Watson, Matthew Wade (wk), Michael Hussey, David Hussey, George Bailey(c), Cameron White, Mitchell Starc, Daniel Christian, Brad Hogg, Pat Cummins.

Catch live score and ball-by-ball commentary of the second T20 tie here