Pakistan, Sri Lanka to play series in UAE

Pakistan and Sri Lanka will play two T20Is and five ODIs © Getty Images

Karachi: Aug 2, 2013

Pakistan announced Friday it will play a full series of three Tests, five one-dayers and two Twenty20 Internationals against Sri Lanka in the United Arab Emirates starting in December.

Since an attack on the Sri Lankan team in Lahore in 2009, Pakistan has been forced to play all top-level home international matches at neutral venues with insecurity too great for foreign teams to tour.

Sri Lanka will open the tour with two Twenty20s in Dubai on December 11 and 13 before playing five one-dayers between December 18 and 27, two in Sharjah on December 18 and 22; two in Abu Dhabi on December 25 and 27; and one in Dubai on December 20.

The three Tests will be played in Dubai from December 31-January 4, in Abu Dhabi from January 8-12 and Sharjah from January 16-20.

Pakistan is also likely to play a Twenty20 against Afghanistan on December 8, which would be the first between the two teams. Final confirmation of the match is due in a few days.

Pakistan will also play a two-Test, five one-day and two Twenty20 series against South Africa in the UAE in October-November.


Dec 7- Sri Lankan team arrive in Dubai

Dec 8 – Pakistan vs Afghanistan Twenty20 internationals (to be confirmed)

Dec 11 – 1st T20 Pakistan vs Sri Lanka – Dubai

Dec 13 – 2nd T20 – Dubai

Dec 18 – 1st one-day international – Sharjah

Dec 20 – 2nd one-day international – Dubai

Dec 22 – 3rd one-day international – Sharjah

Dec 25 – 4th one-day international – Abu Dhabi

Dec 27 – 5th one-day international – Abu Dhabi

Dec 31-Jan 4 – 1st Test – Dubai

Jan 8-12 – 2nd Test – Abu Dhabi

Jan 16-20 -3rd Test – Sharjah