Pakistan's series against Australia in UAE begins on October 3, 2014 © AFP
Pakistan’s series against Australia in UAE begins on October 3, 2014 © AFP

Sep 24, 2014

Pakistan on Wednesday announced One-Day International (ODI) and T20 squads for the series against Australia in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) starting October 3.

Australia will take on Pakistan in a full series in the UAE from October 3, 2014 to November 1, 2014. The bilateral series will start with a lone T20I followed by a three-match ODI series and end with a two-Test series.

The two sides will be playing a tour match before the first Test. This series will be hosted at three venues – Sharjah, Abu Dhabi and Dubai. This bilateral fixture was finalised in March 2014. The last time these two teams played a bilateral series was also in UAE when Australia clinched the ODI series and Pakistan the T20 series.

However, when it comes to Tests, this is the first time in four years that Pakistan and Australia are facing off. They last played at a neutral venue in England where the two-Test series ended in a 1-1 draw.

Pakistan ODI squad versus Australia: Misbah-ul-Haq (c), Ahmed Shehzad, Sohaib Maqsood, Sarfaraz Ahmed (wk), Shahid Afridi, Raza Hasan, Mohammad Hafeez,Umar Akmal, Fawad Alam, Umar Amin, Asad Shafiq, Mohammad Irfan, Anwar Ali, Wahab Riaz, Junaid Khan

Pakistan T20 squad vs Australia: Shahid Afridi (c), Ahmed Shehzad, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Irfan, Bilawal Bhatti, Sohail Tanvir, Anwar Ali, Wahab Riaz, Raza Hasan, Umar Akmal, Sohaib Maqsood,Umar Amin, Saad Nasim, Awais Zia.