Parliamentarians beat Chief Ministers in cricket match

The Parliamentarians team, led by Shashi Tharoor, was helped by the presence of former India players Mohammad Azharuddin and Kirti Azad

Gurgaon: Mar 17, 2012

In these troubled political times, BJP and Congress leaders came together to play cricket here Saturday, the MPs XI defeating legislators from Haryana by five wickets.

The Haryana Chief Minister XI won the toss and decided to bat, scoring 122 runs in 20 overs.

The parliamentarians proved to be better, and achieved the target in 18.4 overs.

In both teams, members displayed bonhomie although they came from varying political background.

For the Haryana team, Aftab Ahmed (Congress) was the top scorer with 20 runs, followed by Ashok Lawasa, a bureaucrat, with 18 runs.

For the MPs, Satyavarat Chaturvedi (Congress) claimed two wickets in three overs after giving away 21 runs.

Kirti Azad (BJP) and Mohd Azaharuddin (Congress) were the top scorers among MPs with 54 and 45 runs respectively. Aftab Ahmed and professional cricketer Joginder Sharma took two wickets each.

Haryana Chief Minister Bhupender Singh Hooda gave away the prizes.

Aftab Ahmed was judged the best bowler and Azaharuddin the best batsman. Azad was declared the best player of the match.

The winners’ trophy was presented to Shashi Tharoor. Hooda received the runners-up prize. (IANS)