A round-up of the Plate matches in round seven of the 2018-19 Vijay Hazare Trophy.
A round-up of the Plate matches in round seven of the 2018-19 Vijay Hazare Trophy.

A round-up of the Plate matches in round seven of the 2018-19 Vijay Hazare Trophy.

 After domestic veteran Yashpal Singh’s 10th List A hundred (102 off 85), Manipur bowlers shot down Mizoram for just 69 helping their side to a massive 210-run win at Anand in round 7 of the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018-19.

After opting to bat first, Manipur lost opener Lakhan Rawat for a four-ball duck before Prafullomani Singh (47) and Chingangbam Singh (75) laid a solid foundation with a stand of 99 for the second wickert. Yashpal then took over and steered the innings hitting 13 fours and one six in his 85-ball knock. Sagatpam Singh’s 41-ball 39 then pushed Manipur’s total to 279 for 4.

In reply, Mizoram could only bat for 29.3 overs scoring just 69 with Rex Singh claiming 5 for 17. Opening bowler Kabrambam Meitei claimed 3 for 32. Bishworjit Konthoujam got 2 for 13.

For Mizoram, opener Sinan Khadir top-scored with 17. Manipur registered their second win of the campaign to jump to fourth in points tally, while Mizoram with their third loss are placed eighth.

Brief Scores: Manipur 279/4 (Yashpal Singh 102, Chingangbam Singh 75; Lalnunkima Varte 2/37) beat Mizoram 69 (Sanin Khadir 17; Rez Singh 5/17) by 210 runs

At Nadiad, table toppers Bihar extended their lead at the top with a five-wicket win over Arunachal Pradesh.

Despite opener Samarth Seth’s 43 and Akhilesh Sahani’s 44, Arunachal could only post 145. Skipper Keshav Kumar starred with the ball claiming 5 for 23 while AShutosh Aman grabbed 3 for 15.

In reply, Bihar openers Vikash Ranjan (26) and Babul Kumar (57) added 81 runs for the opening wicket, before Ashutosh Aman (18*) and Rohit Raj (14*) saw the team through with five wickets in hand. For Arunachal, Myendung Singpho claimed 3 for 50.

Brief Scores: Bihar 150/5 (Babul Kumar 57; Myendung Singpho 3/50) beat Arunachal Pradesh 145 (Akhilesh Sahani 44; Keshav Kumar 5/23) by five wickets.

In the third game, Puducherry claimed a narrow two-wicket win over Nagaland courtesy veteran Paras Dogra’s 122-ball unbeaten 98.

After being out into bat, Nagaland skipper Rongsen Jonathan made 89 while KB Pawan added 46 as the team was all out for 202 in 45.3 overs. Abhishek Nayyar picked 4 for 20 for Puducherry. Vikneshwaran Marimuthu picked 2 for 29.

In reply, Puducherry kept losing wickets at regular intervals. Opener AM Narayanan made 17 while skipper D Rohit added 32. Dogra held one end tight even as Puducherry went on to lose seven wickets for 97 runs and took his team home. Puducherry registered their second win of the campaign to move to third place in the points tally while Nagaland endured their third loss to remain on seventh.

Brief Scores: Puducherry 203/8 (Paras Dogra 98*, D Rohit 32; Abrar Kazi 2/19) beat Nagaland 202 (Rongsen Jonathan 89, KB Pawan 46; Abhishek Nayyar 4/40) by two wickets