Punam Raut to lead India A Women for Australia A one-dayers
Punam Raut will lead India A Women in the three one-days. @Getty

Punam Raut has been named captain of India A women s team for three one-day matches versus the touring Australia A this month, with Sushma Verma the wicketkeeper.

Raut was part of the India Women side that plated ODIs in Sri Lanka last month, while Verma, 25, last played an ODI in April. The A squad includes several players with ODI experience such as Shikha Pandey, Mona Meshram, Devika Vaidya and Rajeshwari Gayakwad and more who have not been capped at international level but with success at domestic and A cricket.

India will host a strong Australia A squad for three one-dayers and three T20s in Mumbai this month, which marks the first officials A tour for Australia s women cricketers since a restructure of the National Talent Pathway last year.

The one-dayers will be played at the BCCI s Bandra-Kurla Complex stadium on October 15, 17 and 19.

India A Women s squad: Punam Raut (capt), Priya Punia, Devika Vaidya, Mona Meshram, Tanushree Sarkar, Sushma Verma (wk), Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Sushree Dibyadarshani, C Prathyusha, Reemalaxmi Ekka, Shikha Pandey, Nethra L, Hemali Borwankar, Kavita Patil, Preeti Bose