The first of the seven-match ODI series will be played at Pune © AFP

New Delhi: Jul 3, 2013

The Subrata Roy Sahara Stadium in Pune will get to host its maiden one-day international match, with Australia slated to play India at the cricket venue in the first of the seven-match ODI series on October 13. The stadium hosted home matches of the now defunct Pune Warriors India during the Indian Premier League (IPL).

The ground hosted its first international match on December 20 last year when India took on England in a Twenty20 match. Besides, many IPL matches were also held here over the last two editions of the cash-rich Twenty20 league.

Australia’s tour will begin with the lone T20 contest in Rajkot on October 10.

The ODI series will begin in Pune and culminate with the seventh and final match in Bangalore on November 2.

All the matches will be day-night affairs. The other ODIs will be held in Jaipur, Mohali, Ranchi, Cuttack and Nagpur.

Australia last visited India for a seven-match ODI series in October-November 2009, when they won 4-2 with the last match washed out in Mumbai.

Australia’s last bilateral ODI series in India was a three-match series in October 2010, of which two were washed out and India won the only game in Visakhapatnam.