Ranji Trophy 2012: Uttar Pradesh fighback after conceding lead to Haryana

Suresh Raina failed with the bat as Uttar Pradesh conceded first innings lead to Haryana Getty Images

Lucknow: Dec 17, 2012

Senior pros Suresh Raina and Mohammad Kaif failed but Uttar Pradesh rode on their youngsters to regain some lost ground after conceding the first-innings lead to Haryana in their Group B Ranji Trophy match on Monday.

After conceding a crucial 49-run lead to Haryana who were bowled out for 276 in their first innings, the hosts reached 217 for four at stumps on the penultimate day at the Dr Akhilesh Das Stadium.

Uttar Pradesh now lead by 168 runs with six wickets remaining.

Resuming on 271 for eight, Haryana could add just five runs to their overnight total, with Ankit Rajpoot finishing with impressive figures of six for 68.

The first-innings lead was largely possible due to the efforts of Rahul Dewan and Joginder Sharma who made 93 and 65 respectively yesterday.

In Uttar Pradesh’s second innings, 23-year-old opener Tanmay Srivastava made 73 before being bowled by Mohit Sharma, who also took the wicket of Mukul Dagar.

24-year-old wicketkeeper-batsman Ekalvya Dwivedi was unbeaten 51 while Parvinder Singh was giving him company on 45 when the stumps were drawn.

Brief scores: Uttar Pradesh 227 and 217 for four (Tanmay Srivastava 73, Ekalvya Dwivedi 51*; Mohit Sharma 2 for 49) lead Haryana 276 all out (Rahul Dewan 93, Joginder Sharma 65; Ankit Rajpoot 6 for 68, Imtiaz Ahmed 3 for 88) by 168 runs