Ranji Trophy 2012: Virag Awate slams ton on debut as Maharashtra dominate against Vidarbha

Virag Awate scored an unbeaten 111 on Day One against Vidarbha Getty Images

Nagpur: Nov 24, 2012

Opener Virag Awate smashed an unbeaten century on debut to guide Maharashtra to 227 for three against Vidarbha at stumps on the opening day of their Ranji Trophy Goup B match on Saturday.

Awate made his entry into the first-class arena in style with a 111-run unconquered knock that came off 302 balls. The 31-year-old batsman from Thane decorated his innings with as many as 15 hits to the fence.

Awate shared a 94-run second wicket stand with Sangram Dilip Atitkar (45) to form the base of Maharashtra’s total after skipper Rohit Motwani won the toss and elected to bat.

At close, skipper Motwani was the other not out batsman at crease and alongwith Awate, he had already stitched unbroken 72 runs for the fourth wicket.

For Vidarbha, captain and veteran leg-spinner Sairaj Bahutule picked up two wickets for 55 runs while the other Maharashtra batsman — Harshad Khadiwale — fell in the form of run out.

Brief Scores: Maharashtra:227 for 3 (Virag Awate 111*, Sangram Dilip Atitkar 45; Sairaj Bahutule 2 for 55) vs Vidarbha