At close of third day’s play, Rajasthan were behind Saurashtra’s total by 192 runs © Getty Images (Representational Photo)

Rajkot: Oct 29, 2013

A fine display by spinners today put Saurashtra in a commanding position as they enforced a follow-on on Rajasthan in their Ranji Trophy Group B match here at the Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Rajkot.

After declaring their first innings at the overnight total of 475 for seven, Saurashtra bundled out the visitors for a paltry 136 in just 43.1 overs in their first essay on the penultimate day of the four-day match.

At the close of play today, Rajasthan were struggling at 147 for four in their second innings, still needing 192 runs with six wickets remaining.

The spin trio of Dharmendra Jadeja, Vishal Joshi and Kamlesh Makwana ran through Rajasthan’s first innings before tightening their grip over the match by third day’s end.

Saurashtra spinners made good use of the turning track and tormented the Rajasthan batsmen, who could never settle down.

It was debutant seamer Abhishek Bhatt, who gave the first breakthrough to the hosts when he trapped S Chauhan (0) in front of the wicket. The three spinners then got into action and took wickets at regular intervals.

Robin Bist (29) and Ashok Menaria (26) put some resistance in the first innings, but both were sent back in quick succession by Makwana, cutting short any hope of a fightback.

Makwana, Jadeja and Joshi took three wickets each.

Chauhan and Vineet Saxena gave the visitors a much better start in the second essay as they put on 55 runs for the opening wicket. Chauhan made only 8 but gave good support to Saxena, who looked comfortable against spinners.

Saxena made 106-ball 70, hitting 11 fours and a six. He added 74 runs for the second wicket with Bist, who made 38.

Captain Hrishikesh Kanitkar was batting on 14 and giving him company was Rajesh Bishnoi (2) at the end of day three.

Leg spinner Jadeja was the most successful bowler for Saurashtra in the second innings, taking three for 51.

Brief scores

Saurashtra 1st inngs: 475 for 7 decl. lead Rajasthan 136 (Robin Bist 29; Kamlesh Makwana 3 for 30, Dharmendra Jadeja 3 for 39, Vishal Joshi 3 for 51) and 147 for 4 (Vineet Saxena 70; Dharmendra Jadeja 3 for 51) by 192 runs.