Wicketkeeper batsman Wriddhiman Saha's name was on the list © AFP
Wicketkeeper batsman Wriddhiman Saha’s name was on the list © AFP

The Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB) on Monday, named a probable squad for the upcoming Ranji Trophy season 2016-17. The list included names of Wriddhiman Saha and Mohammed Shami as well, who are currently a part of the Indian Test squad, and were present on the tour to West Indies as well. Manoj Tiwary, Pragyan Ojha, Ashok Dinda were other names that were in the list. Meanwhile, Sudip Chatterjee, who was the top scorer for Bengal in the 2015-16 season with 735 was also a part of the 27-man probable squad. Dinda was the top wicket-taker for Bengal in the earlier season. He took 36 wickets at an average of 22.50. Ojha too picked up the same number of wickets. READ: CAB cancel AGM due to SC’s order on Lodha Committee’s report

Bengal ended up at second in Group A. Vidarbha finished at the top of the Points Table in their group. In the quarterfinals, Bengal lost to Madhya Pradesh by 355 runs and lost the race to reach the semi-finals.

Meanwhile, CAB also selected the U-19 Bengal team for the All India Dhruv Pandove Trophy which is a Under-19 tournament. Kazi Junaid Saifi was named the captain of the team, whereas Pranab Nandy was named the coach. The tournament will be held in Chandigarh and Patiala from August 31 to September 12, 2016.


Sr. Bengal Prpbables for Ranji Season 2016-17: Manoj Tiwary, Wriddiman Saha, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Sayan Sekhar Mondal, Sudip Chaterjee, Prasenjit Das, Koushik Ghosh, Pankaj Shaw, Agniv Pan, Writtick Chatterjee, Writam Porel, Jayojit Basu, Anustup Majumdar, Satyabrata Murmu, Shreevats Goswami, Pramod Chandila, Mohammed Shami, Ashok Dinda, Veer Pratap Singh, Mukesh Kumar, Sayan Ghosh, Ishan Porel, Ayan Bhattacharjee, Pragyan Ojha, Aamir Gani, Pradipta Pramanik, Aritra Chatterjee

Under 19: Kazi Junaid Saifi (c), Irfan Ansari, Aishik Patel, Ankur Pal, Sudip Gharami, Koustav Singh, Arikta Das, Asif Hussain, Arif Ansari (wk), Amit Santra (wk), Pradipta Pramanik, Raghav Tibrewal, Sachin Kumar, Pradip Balmiki, Rajiv Keshri, Sandipan Das, Donil Dutta, Sandip Das