Shadab Jakati took 4 wickets and scored 92 runs in the match    AFP (File Photo)
Shadab Jakati took 4 wickets and scored 92 runs in the match AFP (File Photo)

The match between Goa and Chhattisgarh of the Round 5 of the Ranji Trophy 2016-17 ended with Goa being the victorious side as Goa won the competition by 8 wickets. Chasing the target of 91, Goa completed the formality losing two wickets. Goa opener Samar Dubhashi played an important unbeaten knock of 41 runs from 61 balls and Sagun Kamat who walked in at No. 3 played an innings of 34 runs from 37 balls to lay the foundation of easy victory. It was Shadab Jakati who won the Man of the Match award who s four for restricted Chattisgarh for 162 which eventually meant that Goa had to chase a target of 91 to win this match. READ: Ranji Trophy 2016-17 Points Table & team standings

Initially, winning the toss Goa opted to field and restricted Chhattisgarh to 198. Amandeep Khare and Ashutosh Singh played knocks of 60 and 55 respectively to help their side reached 198 but it was Rituraj Singh who stole in the show in the first innings as he finished with the figures of 6 for 60. Goa in their first innings registered a decent total of 270 thanks to a knock of 97 runs from Dubhashi and was very well supported by Jakati who scored 92 coming at No. 8 position to bat.

Chhattisgarh were trailing Goa by 72 runs when they came in to bat in the second innings. They continued with their poor batting from first innings and were bundled out for 162. Their opener Sahil Gupta played a lone knock of 82 while his skipper Mohammad Kaif was the second best batsman for his team as he scored 32 runs. A total of 7 batsmen from the Chhattisgarh camp were dismissed for zero. Jakati finished with 4 wickets and Darshan Misal got 3 for 24.

Brief Scores:

Chhattisgarh 198 and 162 all out (Sahil Gupta 82, Mohammad Kaif 32; Shadab Jakati 4 for 41) lost against Goa 270 and 94 for 2 (Samar Dubhashi 41*, Sagun Kamat 34; Kant Singh 1 for 23) by 8 wickets