Karnataka were bowled out for 179 in their first innings    Getty Images (Representation photo)
Karnataka were bowled out for 179 in their first innings Getty Images (Representation photo)

Odisha were in command against Karnataka, having taken a vital lead of 139 runs in their first innings of their Ranji Trophy 2016-17 match at Delhi. In reply to Karnataka s modest total of 179, Biplab Samantray and Saurabh Rawat slammed half-centuries and added 106 runs for the seventh wicket to put Odisha in a position of command of their Group B match being played at the Palam A Ground in Model Sports Complex, New Delhi. Samantray slammed 58, but Rawat missed out on a deserving century as he was dismissed for 85. Odisha s lower-order pulled in their weight, helping their team recover from a dangerous position.

At one stage, Odisha were struggling at 79 for 5, but Samantray teamed up with Abhishek Yadav to bail them out of trouble. Abhishek scored 33 off 79 balls with 5 centuries, and following his dismissal, Rawat joined forces with Samantray to take Odisha ahead. The two batsmen added a record 106 for Odisha against Karnataka, breaking the previous record of 73 during the Ranji Trophy 1984-85 quarter-final between the two sides. For Karnataka, Shreyas Gopal was the pick among the bowlers as he returned with the figures of 24-3-73-5 in the first innings.

At stumps, Basant Mohanty was batting on 16 off 32 balls and Alok Mangaraj was on 10 not out off 25 balls. Odisha were ahead by 139 runs in their first innings and with one more wicket left in their hands, Karnataka will be expected to not allow their opponents to add a lot of runs to their lead and in reply, bat more responsibly. In their first innings, Karnataka were bowled out for 179 with CM Gautam getting a fine 54. In their reply, Odisha have reached 318 for 9 after 111 overs.

Brief scores:

Karnataka 179 (Chidambaram Gautam 54; Basant Mohanty 3 for 46, Biplab Samantray 2 for 20) trail Odisha 318 for 9 (Govinda Poddar 44, Abhishek Yadav 33, Biplab Samantray 58, Saurabh Rawat 85; Shreyas Gopal 5 for 73) by 139 runs.