Abhimanyu Mithun picked up 5 for 45    Getty Images
Abhimanyu Mithun picked up 5 for 45 Getty Images

Vidarbha opted to bat in the second semi-final against Karnataka in Eden Garden. However, Karnataka bowlers restricted Vidarbha to a mere 187. Abhimanyu Mithun winded up the tail, dismissing number nine and ten batsmen for duck. He picked up 5 wickets overall to reduce Vidarbha for 187. Aditya Sarwate was the highest scorer for Vidarbha with 47 runs.

Karnataka bowlers kept striking at regular intervals and didn t allow any partnership to build up. Every bowler, except Krishnappa Gowtham, picked a wicket. The last four Vidarbha wickets fell for 14 runs, which included two ducks. Vidarbha were all out at tea.

Karnataka batted for 14 overs and lost their three batsmen for 21 runs. Umesh Yadav dismissed the highest run-scorer of the series, Mayank Agarwal, for 15. Rajneesh Gurbani picked the other two wickets. Early stumps were taken due to bad light.

The match was started half an hour late as Vidarbha team was struck in traffic. The Day Two of the semi-final will start tomorrow at 9am. Karnataka were 36 for 3 trailing by 149 runs at stumps.

Brief scores:

Vidarbha 187 ( Aditya Sarvate 47; Abhimanyu Mithun 5 for 45) lead Karnataka 36 for 3 (CM Gautam 9*; Rajneesh Gurbani 2 for 9)