BCCI    Getty Images (Representational Image)
BCCI confirmed the news on Wednesday Getty Images (Representational Image)

BCCI have announced the venue of Ranji Trophy 2017-18 final. Indore’s Holkar Cricket Stadium will play host to the finale of the current edition from December 29 to January 2 (2018). This is the consecutive time that Indore will be hosting the summit clash of India’s premier domestic tournament. In 2016-17 season, Gujarat defeated Mumbai at Indore to lift their maiden title. In addition, the semi-finals will be hosted by Pune and Kolkata. Karnataka face Vidarbha at Eden Gardens, whereas Bengal will lock horns with Delhi at Pune.

Indore has, recently, been hosting a lot of international matches. In 2016, Holkar stadium hosted its first-ever Test match, between India and New Zealand. It was the series decider wherein India won by 321 runs. In 2017, the venue hosted the third ODI of the five-match series versus Australia. The result was again in India’s favour, clinching the match by 5 wickets.

The semi-finalists

Karnataka start as favourites against Vidarbha in their semi-final face-off. Having topped the group stage and defeating Mumbai (Ranji’s most experienced side), they will be high on confidence versus Vidarbha. On the other hand, Vidarbha will also come hard against the opposition on the back of all-round performances.

Bengal will be come against Delhi. Bengal last won the championship in 1989-90, while Delhi lifted their last title in 2007-08 season.