Baba Aparajith carried on from where Murali Vijay left    IANS (File Photo)
Baba Aparajith carried on from where Murali Vijay left IANS (File Photo)

At Mumbai: Things aren’t looking very pleasant for the home team in their 500th Ranji match. After bundling out for 176 in front of Baroda’s pace, visitors have added more to their miseries. At stumps on Day Two, Baroda is 376 for 4 and lead by 205 runs. Aditya Waghmode’s 134 propelled Baroda ahead in the race, whereas fifties from Vishnu Solanki, Swapnil Singh and skipper Deepak Hooda have led to Baroda’s total dominance. Hosts had to run through their opposition in order to stand a chance, but have been kept at bay.

From hereon, Baroda will look to mount a big score and push for an innings-victory in Mumbai’s landmark match.

Mumbai 171 (Aditya Tare 50, Shreyas Iyer 28; A Sheth 5 for 50) trail Baroda 371 for 4 (Aditya Waghmode 134, Vishnu Solanki 54, Deepak Hooda 75, Swapnil Singh 63*; Shardul Thakur 1 for 84) by 205 runs.

At Cuttack: After Murali Vijay s 140, Baba Aparajith and Vijay Shankar boosted Tamil Nadu s innings with their centuries in the middle on Day 2 of Round 5 of Ranji Trophy 2017-18.

In a bid to get a couple of early wickets, Tamil Nadu declared their innings in the final hour of the third session at 530 for 8. Suryakant Pradhan was the pick of bowlers with figures of 3 for 75. Biplab Samantray and skipper Govinda Poddar shared 4 wickets. In response, Odisha went on to rule the final 13 overs of the day without any discomfort adding 36 on board for the loss of no wicket, trailing 494 runs.

Brief scores

Tamil Nadu 530 for 8 (Murali Vijay 140, Baba Aparajith 109, Vijay Shankar 100; Suryakant Pradhan 3 for 75) lead Odisha 36 for no loss (Sandeep Pattnaik 15*, Natraj Behera 17*) by 494 runs.

At Agartala: To their overnight score of 252, Andhra managed to add just 150 runs, being bundled for 402. In response, the Andhra bowlers earned an early wicket, keeping Tripura at bay.

Earlier, AK Sarkar ruled the roost for Tripura with second fifer in domestic cricket. Andhra lost early key wickets of centurion Prasanth Kumar, Ricky Bhui and Dwaraka Ravi Teja in the first session. Tripura inflicted further damage scalping last 5 wickets for 50 runs. Tripura s openers provided a decent start with a 39-run stand for the opening wicket. After Bishal Singh was dismissed for 11 by Bandaru Ayyappa, Samrat Singha and Udiyan Bose continued the momentum remaining unbeaten on 33 and 16 respectively.

Brief scores

Andhra 402 (Prasanth Kumar 133, Hanuma Vihari 62, Ricky Bhui 74; AK Sarkar 5 for 68) lead Tripura 68 for 1 (Samrat Singha 33*, Udiyan Bose 16*; Bandaru Ayyappa 1 for 17) by 334 runs.