Elite B Round 7

Captain Manoj Tiwary fell short of his century by 10 runs on the opening day of Bengal‘s Elite B, round 7 clash of Ranji Trophy against Andhra at the ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium in Visakhapatnam. At the close of play, Bengal were 194/6 thanks to Tiwary who led their recovery, hitting 90 off 164.

ALSO READ: Disciplined Himachal bowl out Tamil Nadu for 227

Andhra captain Bodapati Sumanth opted to field first and the new ball bowlers backed his decision reducing Bengal to 31/3 in 17.1 overs. KV Sasikanth struck twice to remove opener Abhishek Raman (6) and No. 3 Sudip Chatterjee (8) while Yarra Prithviraj dismissed Abhimanyu Easwaran for 2.

Following their dismissal, Tiwary took control and steered the innings forward, finding good support in Agniv Pan. They added 113 runs for the fourth wicket to resurrect the innings. Prithviraj provied the breakthrough for Andhra when he had Agniv caught for 39.

Tiwary struck 14 fours during his stay before Paidikalva Vijaykumar’s only victim of the day. Shahbaz Ahmed (11) fell 10 overs before the stumps were drawn.

Bengal’s hopes of a good total hinge on Writtick Chatterjee (27*) and their lower order.

For the hosts Sasikanth and Prithviraj took two wickets each while Vijaykumar and Shoaib claimed a wicket apiece.

Brief Scores: Bengal 194/6 (Manoj Tiwary 90; KV Sasikanth 2/37) against Andhra on Day 1