Madhya Pradesh bagged three points by virtue of gaining a first-innings lead as their Ranji Trophy 2018-19 Elite B Round Three match against Punjab ended in a draw at the Holkar Stadium in Indore on Friday.

Resuming their second innings at 127/1, Punjab had to be content with adding another 138 runs after MP pacer Ishwar Pandey, Avensh Khan and Kuldeep Sen did well to stem the flow of runs at the end. Punjab declared their innings at 265/9, setting a 243-run target for the home side.

Pandey, who has plied his trade with Indian Premier League (IPL) franchise Chennai Super Kings (CSK), struck first blood to send Jiwanjot Singh, Punjab s first innings hero, who scored 124, trapped leg-before for 39.

Sen, who snapped five wickets in the first dig, had Anmolpreet Singh caught behind by captain Naman Ojha for 15 and two overs late, saw the back of Sanvir Singh, who scored just seven.

ALSO READ: Uttar Pradesh slip to second after draw with Services

Avesh then had his name written on the wicket of Abhishek Gupta, and two balls later, had Barinder Sran caught by Mihir Hirwani.

Pandey accounted for the last two wickets of Mayank Markande and Vinay Choudhary leaving Punjab skipper Mandeep Singh stranded on 65 off 99 with no support at the end other. Mandeep smashed four boundaries and three sixes during his stay at the crease.

For MP, Pandey returned with four wickets in his 23 overs, while Avesh snapped three for 85. Sen, who bagged a total of seven wickets, with two in the second dig, was awarded man of the match.

ALSO READ: J&K get first win after beating Tripura

In reply, MP was dealt with only one blow in opener Aryaman Birla, who returned back for a golden duck. Mohnish Mishra (34 off 104) and Rajat Patidar (25 off 107) then continued to resist the Punjab bowling attack with their patient innings till stumps were drawn.

Brief scores: Madhya Pradesh 315 & 67/1 versus Punjab 293 & 265/9dec (Mandeep Singh 65*; Ishwar Pandey 4/59, Avesh Khan 3/85) ends in a draw