Andhra Pradesh were helped to a crucial nine-run first-innings lead against Punjab that saw them walk away with three points as the match ended in a tame draw at Vizag on Sunday. Resuming their overnight score at 327 for 5, Ricky Bhui registered his highest first-class score after he departed for 181 off Anmolpreet Singh. Andhra just about manage to gain the lead with help from wicketkeeper-batsman Srikar Bharat, who scored 76, while Bodapati Sumanth and Shoaib Mohammad Khan added 54 and 52 respectively as Andhra were bowled out for 423 going past Punjab s first innings total of 414 by nine runs. For Punjab, Mayank Markande was the pick of the bowlers with 5/129. Punjab ended the day at 102/2 with opener Shubman Gill reaching yet another half century, his fourth first-class fifty, to be unbeaten on 54.

Brief scores: Andhra Pradesh 423 (Ricky Bhui 181, Srikar Bharat 76; Mayank Markande 5/129) versus Punjab 414 & 102/2 (Shubman Gill 54) ends in a draw

At the Atal Bihari Vajpayee Cricket Stadium in Amtar, Bengal won three points for achieving a first-innings lead after their match against Himachal Pradesh ended in a draw. Resuming their overnight score at 302 for 9, Himachal were bowled out for 324 with Ishan Porel picking the last wicket of GK Singh, who departed for just 5. At stumps on their last day, Bengal were helped to 203/3 with Abhishek Kumar Raman top scoring with 87. Abhimanyu Easwaran scored 76, while Prashant Chopra returned with figures of 2/53 for Himachal.

Brief scores: Himachal 324 versus Bengal 380 & 203/3 (Abhishek Kumar Raman 87, Abhimanyu Easwaran, 76; Prashant Chopra 2/53) ends in a draw

In a match affected by constant rain at Trivanrum, Kerala and Hyderabad were forced to settle with one point each. Hyderabad, resuming their overnight score at 30/1, ended their day at 228/5 with Bavanaka Sandeep and Sumanth Kolla unbeaten on 56 and 42 respectively. For Kerala, left-arm spinner Akshay Chandran picked 2/44.

Brief scores: Kerala 495/6 dec versus Hyderabad 228/5 (Bavanaka Sandeep 56*; Akshay Chandran 2/44) ends in a draw

At the NPR College Ground in Dindigul, Tamil Nadu were finally able to kickstart their first innings after day three was washed out without a single ball bowled. In reply to Madhya Pradesh s 393. openers Abhinav Mukund and India veteran Murali Vijay began steadily before Vijay departed for just 19 off Avesh Khan. Mukund followed his partner soon and walked back after adding just 28 to the tally to give Ankit Sharma his first wicket. The standout performer of Tamil Nadu was Baba Indrajith, who registered his eighth first-class century, an innings that was decorated with 13 boundaries and one hit over the fence as Tamil Nadu ended the day at 236/4 with Indrajith unbeaten on 103. Both teams had to walk away with one point each.

Brief scores: Madhya Pradesh 393 versus Tamil Nadu 236/4 (Baba Indrajith 103*; Avesh Khan 2/49) ends in a draw