Vidarbha claimed their second successive Ranji Trophy title and second overall beating Saurashtra in the final of the Ranji Trophy 2018-19 season by 78 runs at the Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium, Jamtha, Nagpur on Thursday on the final day of the tournament. (ALSO READ: Vidarbha become sixth team to defend title)

Defending a total of 206, Vidarbha were led by left-arm spinner Aditya Sarwate who claimed 11 wickets in the match, including 6/59 in the second innings as Saurashtra were bundled out for 127. Vidarbha, who had claimed their first Ranji title last year – the first in over 60 years – were buoyed by lower-order batsman Akshay Karnewar‘s unbeaten 73 in the first innings, helping his side to 312. At one stage, Vidarbha, after electing to bat were tottering at 139/6.

In reply, Saurashtra fell short of Vidarbha’s first innings total by five runs with opener Snell Patel scoring 102, even as Sarwate claimed 5/98. Fellow spinner Akshay Wakhare scalped 4/80. For Saurashta, skipper Jaydev Unadkat made 46, batting at No.10.

In the second dig, Vidarbha’s big guns failed once again as as they were shot down for 200. Sarwate played a key role with the bat, top-scoring with 49 while for Saurashtra left-arm spinner Dharmendrasinh Jadeja took 6/96.

However, defending total, Sarwate came to fore claiming 6/59 and fittingly took the winning catch , that off Unadakat off Wakhare.

Brief scores: Vidarbha 312 & 200 beat Saurashtra 307 & 127 by 78 runs