Ranji Trophy Final 2012-13 Live Cricket score: Mumbai vs Saurashtra at Wankhede Stadium - Day Two

The final is being played at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai © Getty Images

Mumbai: Jan 27, 2013

Mumbai surged ahead of Saurashtra‘s first innings score of 148, taking stumps at 287 for six on Day Two of the final of the Ranji Trophy at the Wankhede Stadium.

Hiken Shah (41 not out) and Dhawal Kulkarni (18 not out) were batting when umpires called stumps.

Saurashtra finally got the wicket of Mumbai’s Wasim Jaffer (132) on the third session of Day Two of the Ranji Trophy final at the Wankhede Stadium.

After surviving two dubious umpiring calls earlier in his innings, Jaffer eventually succumbed to a poor lbw decision. But this was after he scored 132 off 146 balls, including 16 boundaries and a six.

The home side have total control over the opposition, having bundled them out for a paltry score on the first day of the game.

Mumbai will aim to put up a huge first innings total, as resuming Day Two at 19 for no loss.

Earlier, medium pacer Dhawal Kulkarni spearheaded the Mumbai attack superbly to snap up four wickets and help the hosts bundle out Saurashtra for a meagre first innings total of 148 on day one of the five-day Ranji Trophy final at the Wankhede Stadium here on Saturday.

The 24-year-old right-arm pace bowler used the conditions well to pick up 4 for 24 in 21.3 overs bowled in four spells after Saurashtra were asked to bat first on a seam-friendly track by Mumbai captain Ajit Agarkar.

Kulkarni, who grabbed five wickets in the semi-final against Services at Delhi, and rookie left-arm spinner Vishal Dabholkar had Saurashtra on the ropes at 51 for five before lunch with the medium pacer picking up three of those wickets.

The visitors recovered a bit through a 64-run stand between top-scorer Aarpit Vasavada, who made 55 with nine fours, and Kamlesh Makwana (26).

But once these two batsmen fell to Abhishek Nayar in successive overs close to tea break, the Saurashtra innings went into a slump once again before they were dismissed for 142 with Kulkarni dismissing the last man Sidharth Trivedi for his fourth wicket.

Brief Scores: Saurashtra 148 (Aarpit Vasavada 55, Kamlesh Makvana 26; Dhaval Kulkarni 4 for 24) trail Mumbai 236 for 5 (Wasim Jaffer 132) by 87 runs.

(With inputs from PTI)