Ranji Trophy Final 2012-13Live Cricket score: Mumbai vs Saurashtra at Wankhede Stadium

Mumbai captain Ajit Agarkar won the toss and elected to field against Saurashtra © Getty Images

Mumbai: Jan 26, 2013

Mumbai produced an inspired bowling performance to bundle out Saurashtra for 148 in the first innings of the final match of the Ranji Trophy 2012-13, on the opening day at Wankhede Stadium.

Dhawal Kulkarni bagged four for 24 while Vishal Dabholkar and Abhishek Nayar bagged two wickets each.

Earlier, Mumbai’s Abhishek Nayar struck in quick succession to remove Aarpit Vasavada and Kamlesh Makwana, who added 64 runs for the sixth wicket to take Saurashtra past 100-run mark in the first innings of the Ranji Trophy final.

Vasavada fell after scoring a fluent 55 off 146 balls, while Makwana scored an 83-ball 26 studded with four boundaries.

Before their dismissal, Vasavada and Makwana stitched a strong 64-run stand in 24.5 overs to stabilise Saurashtra, reaching 109 for five from 54 overs in the second session’s play.

Vasavada struck a crucial half-century, scoring 50 not out off 139 balls with the help of eight boundaries to provide Saurashtra innings some strength after they suffered a batting collapse earlier in the day.

Saurashtra began on a positive note in the second session’s play against Mumbai in the Ranji Trophy final, reaching 75 for five from 42 overs in the first innings.

Aarpit Vasavada was batting on 35 off 106 balls, accompanied by Kamlesh Makwana at seven.

Before Lunch, Saurashtra slipped to 45 for four losing the middle-order mainstay Sitanshu Kotak and Sheldon Jackson during the first session’s play at the Wankhede Stadium.

Kotak fell to Vishal Dabholkar for 14, after facing 66 deliveries during his stay at the crease.

Two overs later, Dhawal Kulkarni struck once again to remove Jackson for five, leaving the tourists struggling at 45 for four in 30 overs.

Earlier, Mumbai’s Kulkarni struck twice as Saurashtra reached 23 runs in first fifteen overs in the Ranji Trophy final on Saturday at Wankhede Stadium.

Sagar Jogiyani fell in the first over as he hit the short length delivery by Kulkarni, he was caught in the second slip by Wasim Jaffer.

Next to go was Rahul Dave; Kulkarni bowled a bouncer which edged and went to Ankeet Chavan.

Shitanshu Kotak (9) and Aarpit Vasavada (9) were unbeaten.

Earlier, Mumbai won the toss and elected to field against Saurashtra on Saturday.

Mumbai retained the same squad that played against Services in the semi-final.

Brief Scores: Saurashtra 109 for 5 (Aarpit Vasavada 50*, Kamlesh Makwana 25*; Dhawal Kulkarni 3 for 17) vs Mumbai.