Elite Group A Day 4

Former champions Mumbai and Saurashtra played out an exciting draw on Tuesday after both teams squandered chances to win the contest on the fourth and final day of their Elite Group A Ranji Trophy clash.

Mumbai, champions on 41 occasions and ahead of the visitors by 46 runs on the first innings, declared their second innings in the morning session at 238/8, leaving Saurashtra a target of 285 in 72 overs.

Saurashtra were sailing along merrily after being 79 for two with the 113-run third wicket stand between Viswarajsinh Jadeja (71 in 129 balls) and Sheldon Jackson (57 in 118 balls) bringing them closer to the target.

Jadeja was run out by a direct throw from point by Jay Bista to break the stand at 192 and then a double-strike with the use of short balls in one over by medium pacer Minad Manjrekar put the skids on Saurashtra.

Manjrekar got rid of both Jackson, caught slashing at deep point when Saurashtra needed 55 in ten overs, and Prerak Mankad (24 in 21 balls) three runs later to raise visions of a Mumbai victory.

Manjrekar got two more wickets in that spell to send back Arpit Vasavada and rival captain Jaydev Unadkat after which Saurashtra downed the shutters with Chirag Jani holding fort at one end.

After four balls in the final over, the game was called off as a draw with the visitors on 266 for 7, needing 19 more runs to pull off what would have been a come-from- behind win.

Jani (9) and Dharmendra Jadeja (8) were the unbeaten batsmen at the crease when the match ended.

Manjrekar finished with impressive figures of 4 for 39, while Shivam Dube got 2 for 50.

Mumbai secured three points to boost their tally to 11 and are 14th out of 18 teams in the combined A and B Groups standings with two matches left.

Saurashtra secured one point to remain on top of the combined standings with 26 points with one game in hand.
Brief Scores: Mumbai 394 and 238/8d (Shreyas Iyer 83, Shivam Dube 39, Shubham Ranjane 43; C Sakariya 3/47, D Jadeja 3/12) drew with Saurashtra 348 and 266/7 (Snell Patel 41, Vishwarajsinh Jadeja 71, Sheldon Jackson 57; S Dube 2/50, Minad Manjrekar 4/39)