Rohit Sharma    AFP
Rohit Sharma AFP

Rohit Sharma (118) bludgeoned the joint fastest T20I century equalling David Miller in 35 balls in the ongoing clash versus Sri Lanka. On a belter of a track at Holkar Stadium, Rohit smashed every Sri Lankan bowler to pulp and utilised the shorter boundaries. In the ninth over of the innings, Rohit took on Asela Gunaratne for four consecutive boundaries 2 fours and 2 sixes. In addition, he did the same against his counterpart Thisara Perera to smack 4 successive sixes.

The feature of Rohit’s innings has been his effortless placements along with brutal power. Rohit guarded his stumps and whacked away the fuller deliveries into the stands. One of his sixes was sent to the second tier towards long off. Rohit’s innings comprised of 12 fours and 10 sixes; including a 101-metre hit out of the park.

During Rohit’s stay, he added the highest opening-run stand with KL Rahul (165). To remind the readers, this isn’t Rohit’s first hundred in T20Is. He was India’s second batsman to reach three figures in the shortest format (after Suresh Raina). His maiden ton came against South Africa at Dharamsala in 2015.