Rohit Sharma will have to prove himself after being injured for a long time in Deodhar Trophy    Getty Images
Rohit Sharma will have to prove himself after being injured for a long time in Deodhar Trophy Getty Images

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Tuesday announced the squads for India Blue and India Red to take on the winners of Vijay Hazare Trophy 2016-17, Tamil Nadu, in the upcoming DB Deodhar Trophy. The triangular series will be played from March 25-29 on Visakhapatnam. Rohit Sharma, who has not played an international game since the ODI series against New Zealand last year, will lead India Blue whereas Parthiv Patel has been announced captain of India Red. However, the biggest omission from the two sides has been MS Dhoni. Dhoni had a pleasant outing leading Jharkhand to the semi-finals, slamming 330 runs at an average of 66.

According to a media release, the squads present a mix of top performers from the recently-concluded Vijay Hazare Trophy. Some of the renowned names are Govinda Poddar, Krunal Pandya, Prasidh Krishna, Shardul Thakur, Pankaj Rao among others. The fringe players from national setup and regulars in the A side, comprising of Rishabh Pant, Shreyas Iyer, Mayank Agarwal and Dhawal Kulkarni, have also been included. India s limited-overs specialists, Shikhar Dhawan and Akshar Patel, have also got a look-in.

Manoj Tiwary has been included in the side at the back of some good showings with the bat. The selectors have also gone ahead with out-of-favour players like Harbhajan Singh, Ashok Dinda and Ambati Rayudu.

The tournament is set to serve as a platform for national and fringe players like Rohit, Manish Pandey, Dhawan, Akshar, Jadhav and Gurkeerat Singh to make a mark ahead of India s next schedule in shorter formats, ICC Champions Trophy 2017. The tournament will be held in England and Wales from June 1.


India Blue: Rohit Sharma (c), Mandeep Singh, Shreyas Iyer, Ambati Rayudu, Manoj Tiwary, Rishabh Pant (wk), Deepak Hooda, Harbhajan Singh, Krunal Pandya, Shahbaz Nadeem, Siddarth Kaul, Shardul Thakur, Prasidh Krishna, Pankaj Rao

India Red: Parthiv Patel (c & wk), Shikhar Dhawan, Manish Pandey, Mayank Agarwal, Kedar Jadhav, Ishank Jaggi, Gurkeerat Mann, Akshar Patel, Akshay Karnewar, Ashok Dinda, Kulwant Khejroliya, Dhawal Kulkarni, Govinda Poddar