RP Singh to lead Uttar Pradesh in Mushtaq Ali trophy

RP Singh during a practise session in England Getty Images

Kanpur: Oct 18, 2011

India pacer R P Singh has been named as captain of the Uttar Pradesh cricket team which will participate in the Twenty20 Syed Mushtaq Ali trophy scheduled to be held from October 20 to 25 at Indore.

UPCA president Jyoti Bajpai said the team left for Indore yesterday and Piyush Chawla has been promoted as Singh’s deputy.

Uttar Pradesh coach Gyanendra Pandey exuded confidence that the team will perform well in the event and said his boys have put in a lot of effort in their preparation.


R P Singh (c), Piyush Chawla, Mohammad Kaif, Sudip Tyagi, Tanmay Srivastava, Ravikant Shukla, Rohit Prakash, Parvinder Singh, Prashant Gupta, Praveen Gupta, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Amit Chopra, Aarish Aalam, Rohit Chaudhary, Eklavya Dwivedi, Aayush Pathak and Deependra Pandey.