Pranav Dhanawade scored a record-breaking 1009 not-out. Picture courtesy: Cricfit
Pranav Dhanawade scored a record-breaking 1009 not out. Picture courtesy: Cricfit

As Sachin Tendulkar‘s son Arjun gets selected in the Under-16 West Zone team for the inter-zonal tournament, Twitteratti reacted on why Pranav Dhanawade has not been selected in the squad. Baroda Cricket Association on Tuesday announced a 15-man squad for the upcoming domestic tournament in which Arjun has been included but not Dhanawade. A selection committee with members like Tushar Arothe, Shantanu Sugwekar, Samir Dighe and J Krishna Rao were behind the squad for the tournament. The tournament is set to be played at Hubli. Om Bhosale has been named as the captain of the team and Neel Jadhav is the keeper for West Zone. READ: Tendulkar’s son Arjun selected in Under-16 West Zone squad

Earlier, Dhanawade had grabbed attention with his unbeaten 1009 during a Bhandari Cup match . Playing for KC Gandhi High School against Arya Gurukul, Dhanawade had put up the unimaginable amount of runs and broken many records in the process. His innings included 59 sixes and 129 boundaries and the final team score was 1,465 for 3.

On the first day of the innings, Dhanawade smashed an unbelievable 78 boundaries and as many as 30 sixes to get 652 runs in only 199 balls. The KC Gandhi School ended the day at a massive total of 956 runs for one, with the No. 3 batsman Siddhesh Pateil remaining unbeaten on 100. The opening batsman Aakash Singh had scored 173.

However, the world record-maker remained unable to find a spot in West Zone’s squad for the previously mentioned tournament. Here are the tweets which came as a reaction to this selection:


However, some tweets came in favour of Arjun as well.


The tournament started from May 24. Here is the entire squad: Om Bhosale (c), Neel Jadhav (wk), Vasudev Patil, Suved Parker, Smit Patel, Sanpreet Bagga, Yashashvi Jaiswal, Divyansh Saxena, Arjun Tendulkar, Yogesh Dongre, Atharva Ankolekar, Suraj Suryal, Siddharth Desai, Akash Pandey and Mukund Sardar. The five stand-bye players are Kiran More, Satyalakshaya Jain, Nihar Bhuyan, Vignesh Solanki, Vaibhav Patil.