Preston Mommsen took charge of the Scotland side recently © Getty Images
Preston Mommsen took charge of the Scotland side recently © Getty Images

Scotland have a great opportunity to register their first win of the World Cup, although it won’t be the easiest of tasks. Their up against the likes of four-time champions Australia, Sri Lanka, England and New Zealand. They will have a great chance when the meet Afghanistan and Bangladesh, although it won’t be all that easy. Scotland have talented all-rounders and for a team of their stature, they must win more games. Their coach Paul Collingwood will look to bring all his experience to full use to guide this Scottish team to success in the mega event.

Scotland Squad for ICC World Cup 2015: Preston Mommsen (capt), Kyle Coetzer, Richie Berrington, Frederick Coleman, Matthew Cross, Joshua Davey, Alasdair Evans, Hamish Gardiner, Majid Haq, Michael Leask, Matt Machan, Calum MacLeod, Safyaan Sharif, Robert Taylor, Iain Wardlaw

Coach: Grant Bradburn

 Fixtures – Pool A

Feb 17: New Zealand, Dunedin

Feb 23: England, Christchurch

Feb 26: Afghanistan, Dunedin

Mar 05: Bangladesh, Nelson

Mar 11: Sri Lanka, Hobart

Mar 14: Australia, Hobart

World Cup record:

1999: Pool stage

2007: Pool stage

Key player: Calum MacLeod,  made four international hundreds in 2014 and two centuries in consecutive games — 113 against the United Arab Emirates and 175 against Canada were vital innings in Scotland’s quest for World Cup qualification. Originally a pace bowler, MacLeod was good enough to gain a county contract with Warwickshire in 2008 but he was reported for a suspect action in an Intercontinental Cup match the following year and released by the Midlands side in 2010.

Since then the 25-year-old has concentrated on his batting and now he faces the daunting task of facing some of the world’s best attacks.