Sharad Pawar elected unopposed as MCA president

Sharad Pawar’s (above) only opposition came from Gopinath Munde, who’s application for the post was rejected © Getty Images

Mumbai: Oct 18, 2013

Ravi Savant and Vijay Patil, who led two rival groups, were elected as the two vice-presidents of the Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA), that will be headed by Sharad Pawar who was chosen unopposed as MCA president, during its biennial polls on Friday.

The three other members of Savant’s panel, namely Vinod Deshpande (treasurer), Nitin Dalal (joint secretary) and PV Shetty (joint secretary), were also elected.

While Deshpande was MCA vice-president along with Patil under Savant’s presidentship before the polls, Dalal and Shetty held the same posts.

Former Test cricketers Lalchand Rajput and Abey Kuruvilla also got elected to the 11-member strong managing committee, along with former Mumbai left-arm spinner Sanjay Patil.

Others elected were Arvind Kadam, Arman Malik, Nadeem Memon, Deepak Murkar, Deepak Patil, Navin Shetty, Shrikant Tigdi and Ramesh Vazge.