Shikhar Dhawan (l) replaces Murali Vijay (r)    AFP
Shikhar Dhawan (l) replaces Murali Vijay (r) AFP

Fresh from an extraordinary ICC Champions Trophy 2017 edition, Shikhar Dhawan has found a place in the 16-member squad for Sri Lanka tour, where India will play 3 Tests. Dhawan replaced Murali Vijay, who has been ruled out due to injury. BCCI’s All-India Senior Selection Committee made an announcement on Monday, stating that Vijay injured himself during a practice match. Vijay participated in a Tamil Nadu Cricket Association (TNCA) division league match at SSN College on Thursday representing Jolly Rovers against Young Stars. Kumble, Dravid, Zaheer don t deserve public humiliation, says Guha

BCCI’s medical team has therefore advised that Vijay should continue his rehabilitation program. Vijay has been out of action since the Australia series and did not participate in IPL 2017 as well.

Rohit Sharma replaced Karun Nair, while Mohammed Shami has been chosen ahead of Jayant Yadav. Virat Kohli will continue to lead the side, with Ajinkya Rahane acting as vice-captain.

India play Sri Lanka in a three-match Test series with the first Test to be played on July 26 at the Galle International Stadium, followed by the remaining Tests at Colombo and Kandy respectively in August.


Virat Kohli (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Lokesh Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vc), Rohit Sharma, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Kuldeep Yadav, Abhinav Mukund