Shreyas Gopal claims 2nd hat-trick of IPL 2019, removing Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers and Marcus Stoinis

Rajasthan Royal‘s Shreyas Gopal claimed the 2nd hat-trick of IPL 2019 and 19th overall in the tournament’s history removing Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers and Marcus Stoinis off consecutive deliveries in the second over of a five-over innings against Royal Challengers Bangalore in a run-curtailed Match 49.

Hat-tricks in IPL

1 Laxmipathy Balaji (CSK) KXIP 2008
2 Amit Mishra (DD) DC 2008
3 Makhaya Ntini (CSK) KKR 2008
4 Yuvraj Singh (KXIP) RCB 2009
5 Rohit Sharma (DC) MI 2009
6 Yuvraj Singh (KXIP) DC 2009
7 Praveen Kumar (RCB) RR 2010
8 Amit Mishra (DC) KXIP 2011
9 Ajit Chandila (RR) PWI 2012
10 Sunil Narine (KKR) KXIP 2013
11 Amit Mishra (SRH) PWI 2013
12 Pravin Tambe (RR) KKR 2014
13 Shane Watson (RR) SRH 2014
14 Axar Patel (KXIP) GL 2016
15 Samuel Badree (RCB) MI 2017
16 Andrew Tye (GL) RPS 2017
17 Jayadev Unadkat (RPS) SRH 2017
18 Sam Curran (KXIP) DC 2019
19 Shreyas Gopal (RR) RCB 2019


Kohli had started with a bang after the lengthy break with two sixes off the first two balls of the innings bowled by Varun Aaron. A length ball was dispatched over long-off while the second one, an edge, went over the third man boundary. De Villiers added two fours as 23 runs came off the first over.

Gopal’s first three balls went for a six, four and a couple before Kohli mistimed one towards long-on, where Liam Liingstone held on to an easy catch. De Villiers sliced next one to extra cover where Riyan Parag took another easy catch. Stonis, facing the hat-trick ball then drove one straight to mid-on to hand Gopal his second hat-trick of the year. He had taken a hat-trick in the 2019 Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy.