Spin bowling legend Shane Warne has revealed his all-time India XI comprising players he played against during his storied international career. In his eleven, he has made Sourav Ganguly as the captain and included his great-rival Sachin Tendulkar, against whom he had enjoyed several memorable battles.

Virender Sehwag is the opener of his team and surprisingly, he has Navjot Sidhu as his partner for company.

Explaining why Sidhu has found a place, Warne said, “I had to pick Navjot Singh Sidhu because he was the best player against spin I have ever played against. All the other spinners I have played with, they have also told me that Sidhu was brilliant against them,” Warne said on Instagram Live.

At no. 3 is Rahul Dravid who is followed by Tendulkar, Mohammad Azharuddin and Ganguly.

Legendary allrounder Kapil Dev has also made the cut at no. 7 and Nayan Mongia has been chosen as the wicketkeeper.

Warne has selected only those players that he played against, hence, the omission of the likes of MS Dhoni and Virat Kohli

“I am only picking players that I played against and that’s why M.S. Dhoni and Virat Kohli are not going to be a part of the side. While Dhoni is probably the greatest wicketkeeper-batsman to have played the game, Kohli is one of the greatest batsmen across formats,” Warne said.

He added, “I went for Ganguly because I wanted him to be the captain of my side, that is why Laxman missed out.”

Harbhajan Singh and Anil Kumble are the two spinners with the pace department being handled by Kapil and Javagal Srinath.

Warne’s all-time India XI: Virender Sehwag, Navjot Singh Sidhu, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, Mohammad Azharuddin, Sourav Ganguly (captain), Kapil Dev, Nayan Mongia (wicketkeeper), Harbhajan Singh, Javagal Srinath, Anil Kumble.