Sourav Ganguly named Bengal captain for Vijay Hazare Trophy

Sourav Ganguly had led Bengal in three Ranji matches this season Getty Images

Kolkata, Feb 18, 2012

Fighting to keep himself in shape ahead of the IPL, former India skipper Sourav Ganguly will lead Bengal’s challenge in the upcoming domestic one-dayers for the Vijay Hazare Trophy.

The state selectors picked up a 16-member squad today and with regular Bengal skipper Manoj Tiwary doing national duty in Australia, they opted not to name a vice-captain.

Bengal will begin their campaign against Orissa in their zonal league of the meet to be held here from February 20-28.

Ganguly had led Bengal in three Ranji matches this season.

Chairman of state selection committee, Deep Dasgupta said, “Sourav was so keen to play for Bengal that he did not do commentary in the Commonwealth Bank series.”

The 39-year-old is mentor and captain of Pune Warriors in the upcoming IPL 5. (PTI)


Sourav Ganguly (c), Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Anustup Majumdar, Joyjit Basu, Subhamoy Das, Laxmi Ratan Shukla, Arnab Nandi, Sanjib Sanyal, Iresh Saxena, Mohammad Shami Ahmed, Ashok Dinda, Sourav Sarkar, Arindam Ghosh, Sourasish Lahiri, Shreevats Goswami and Debabrata Das.